Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
How to block the hints? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: How to block the hints? (/thread-25207.html)



How to block the hints? - Radical Batz - 05-03-2014

So you know those hints which when you pick up a tinder box it will show you a hint about it, and when you're in darkness it will show you a hint about it! Yeah, you know what I'm talkin about.

So I made a voice intro and I gave the player 3 tinderboxes already as a beginning but the tinderboxes hint appears in the voice acting scene and I don't want that, I know what the code to block hints

PHP Code:
BlockHint("PickTinderbox"); 

But the problem is, what's the name of the hint I wanna block? How the heck should I know?

I don't know where I can find the names of the hints to block them! anybody knows? pls?


RE: How to block the hints? - Mudbill - 05-03-2014

Take a look in the english.lang in the config folder. You'll find it there. Or perhaps base_english.lang, but I think it's the first one.

Edit: It looks like what you put should be the correct one.

base_english.lang has this:
Code:
<Entry Name="PickTinderbox">Tinderboxes are used to light candles and other light sources in the enviroment. The current amount of Tinderboxes is shown in Inventory ($ButInventory).</Entry>



RE: How to block the hints? - Radical Batz - 05-03-2014

(05-03-2014, 03:26 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Take a look in the english.lang in the config folder. You'll find it there. Or perhaps base_english.lang, but I think it's the first one.

Edit: It looks like what you put should be the correct one.

base_english.lang has this:
Code:
<Entry Name="PickTinderbox">Tinderboxes are used to light candles and other light sources in the enviroment. The current amount of Tinderboxes is shown in Inventory ($ButInventory).</Entry>

I tried to make this
PHP Code:
BlockHint("PickTinderbox"); 

but didn't work :/


RE: How to block the hints? - Mudbill - 05-03-2014

Did you try RemoveHint("PickTinderbox"); maybe?


RE: How to block the hints? - Radical Batz - 05-03-2014

(05-03-2014, 05:25 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Did you try RemoveHint("PickTinderbox"); maybe?

I did that too after I removed the block hint and did that instead, but still nothing! :/


RE: How to block the hints? - DnALANGE - 05-03-2014

Here is my example from Premonition.
Spoiler below!

PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{
BlockHint("DarknessDecrease");
BlockHint("EntityGrab");
BlockHint("EntityLever");
BlockHint("EntityPush");
BlockHint("EntitySlide");
BlockHint("EntitySwingDoor");
BlockHint("EntityWheel");
BlockHint("PickLantern");
BlockHint("PickOil");
BlockHint("PickTinderbox");
BlockHint("QuestAdded");
BlockHint("RecentlyReadText");
BlockHint("SanityHit");
BlockHint("SanityLow");
BlockHint("Hints");    
BlockHint("EnemySeen");


---
How does it work and where do i get the functions from?
Here is how it works;
The HINTS are placed in the base_english.lang
Here is where the hints are starting:
( for me ) somewhere at line 538.
PHP Code:
</CATEGORY>
  <
CATEGORY Name="Hints">
    <
Entry Name="SanityAdd">As you make progress or pick up important itemsyou'll recover some lost sanity.</Entry>
Etcetera,etcetera... 
---
Extra information;
IF you want the hints to appear again at... another map for example, Easely do this ( example )
PHP Code:
UnBlockHint("DarknessDecrease");
UnBlockHint("EntityGrab");
UnBlockHint("EntityLever");
UnBlockHint("EntityPush");
UnBlockHint("EntitySlide");
Etcetera,etcetera...
HintWhat i didjust put those (UnBlockHintsinto voidOnLeave() so the hint(sshow(edup in the next map



RE: How to block the hints? - Romulator - 05-04-2014

Yes, but that didn't work apparently, unless the BlockHint() was not in OnStart()...


RE: How to block the hints? - Radical Batz - 05-04-2014

(05-04-2014, 02:02 AM)Romulator Wrote: Yes, but that didn't work apparently, unless the BlockHint() was not in OnStart()...

I put it Onstart