Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) (/thread-29725.html)



Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - A.M Team - 03-08-2015

I have the .hps file EXACTLY the same name as my map in the exact same folder and the script wont work! There even isn't a blackbox error.

PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{
    
FadeOut(0.01);
    
FadeGlobalSoundVolume(00);
    
SetPlayerActive(false);
    
SetInventoryDisabled(false);
    
AddTimer("starttime"2"GameTime");
}

void GameTime(string &in asTimer)
{
    
RemoveTimer("starttime");
    
FadeGlobalSoundVolume(10.3);
    
SetPlayerActive(true);
    
SetInventoryDisabled(true);
    
PlayGuiSound("insanity_imageflash01.ogg"1);
    
FadeIn(2);


I have a retail Windows 7 1.3 non beta version of Amnesia:The Dark Descent. Can someone help me?


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - Mudbill - 03-08-2015

If your file the right format? In Windows, if extensions are hidden, you can't easily change the file type by just renaming a text file because it will end up as .hps.txt.


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - A.M Team - 03-08-2015

(03-08-2015, 04:29 PM)Mudbill Wrote: If your file the right format? In Windows, if extensions are hidden, you can't easily change the file type by just renaming a text file because it will end up as .hps.txt.

Yep, the format is .hps. And it still doesn't work. Undecided


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - Neelke - 03-08-2015

Ok, let's go in detail here. What is actually happening when youre starting the level? Does anything in the script happen at all?


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - A.M Team - 03-08-2015

(03-08-2015, 04:46 PM)Neelke Wrote: Does anything in the script happen at all?

The game's frame rate drops extremely for around 2-3 seconds then it goes to normal. But nothing described in the script.


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - Mudbill - 03-08-2015

That lag is probably caused by lots of entities and their physics as you start the map. If they are hovering or colliding, they'll start the map by falling and pushing each other, which can be rough.


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - FlawlessHappiness - 03-08-2015

So.. what is it that's not working? Everything?

Can you open your inventory? Try putting a debug message inside both functions.


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - A.M Team - 03-08-2015

(03-08-2015, 07:40 PM)FlawlessHappiness Wrote: So.. what is it that's not working? Everything?

Can you open your inventory? Try putting a debug message inside both functions.

Everything is working fine except the .hps file. I can open the inventory and such. I'll try the debug message you were talking about.


RE: Script not working (NO BLACKBOX ERROR) - Straxedix - 03-11-2015

This thread is solved... there was problem with one script timer that deleted one important timer... like.. like... it's just solved ! :)