Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: SOMA (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-55.html)
+--- Forum: User created content (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-79.html)
+---- Forum: Technical Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-80.html)
+---- Thread: Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt (/thread-46360.html)



Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Hypercube - 05-07-2016

So basically, I wanted to make the monster automatically chase you. I know how to do it, but something went wrong. I mean, maybe I don't know exactly how to do it (because I don't know that much scripting), but that's not the point. You see, I was using the msElevatorPuppet variable and it worked in my last map (BLACKOUT), but it won't work now in the map I'm working on for some reason. I type in Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt(msElevatorPuppet); but that doesn't work, even though before in the script file I put tString msElevatorPuppet = "(insert monster name here)";

I mean, I might just be dumb because I don't know a lot of scripting like I said earlier, but it worked in BLACKOUT so why won't it work it this mod?


RE: Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Abion47 - 05-07-2016

So you say something went wrong. What happened exactly?


RE: Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Hypercube - 05-07-2016

(05-07-2016, 04:14 AM)Abion47 Wrote: So you say something went wrong. What happened exactly?
I don't even know myself. I was able to do it fine before in my mod BLACKOUT but not now for some reason. The error message thing I get is "no matching signatures to Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt(tString)" tString being the msElevatorPuppet

I don't know what exactly is going on but it just doesn't work.


RE: Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Abion47 - 05-07-2016

That message means the method doesn't exist to your script. Add
#include "custom_depth/helper_custom_depth_ai_puppet.hps"
to the top of your code.


RE: Puppet_ChangeState_Hunt - Hypercube - 05-07-2016

(05-07-2016, 05:14 AM)Abion47 Wrote: That message means the method doesn't exist to your script. Add
#include "custom_depth/helper_custom_depth_ai_puppet.hps"
to the top of your code.

Ahh... Wow, I totally forgot about that. Thanks a lot, I was really confused, because I thought I already had that in the script.