Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
can't give Glass_container? Say wut?
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#1
can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Yea so all my "giveitem" functions works:


GiveItem("hollow_needle_1", "hollow_needle", "hollow_needle_1", "hollow_needle.tga", 1);


GiveItem("glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_1", "chemical_container", "chemical_1", "chemical_container.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_2", "chemical_container", "chemical_2", "chemical_container.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_roed", "chemical_container_half", "chemical_roed", "chemical_container_half.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_groen", "chemical_container_full", "chemical_groen", "chemical_container_full.tga", 1);

Except for this one:


GiveItem("glass_container", "glass_container", "glass_container", "glass_container.tga", 1);

I have no idea why!! It just won't give me the glass_container! I can't use the giveitemfromfile script, because it doesn't have the SubItemTypeName.

What can i do?

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 08:21 PM by FlawlessHappiness.)
05-06-2012, 07:29 PM
Find
SonOfLiberty796 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 371
Threads: 39
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#2
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

(05-06-2012, 07:29 PM)beecake Wrote: Yea so all my "giveitem" functions works:


GiveItem("hollow_needle_1", "hollow_needle", "hollow_needle_1", "hollow_needle.tga", 1);


GiveItem("glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done", "glass_container_mix_done.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_1", "chemical_container", "chemical_1", "chemical_container.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_2", "chemical_container", "chemical_2", "chemical_container.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_roed", "chemical_container_half", "chemical_roed", "chemical_container_half.tga", 1);


GiveItem("chemical_groen", "chemical_container_full", "chemical_groen", "chemical_container_full.tga", 1);

Except for this one:


GiveItem("glass_container", "glass_container", "glass_container", "glass_container.tga", 1);

I have no idea why!! It just won't give me the glass_container! I can't use the giveitemfromfile script, because it doesn't have the SubItemTypeName.

What can i do?
GiveItem("", "glass_container_1", "glass_container", "glass_container.tga", 1);

Try that^ By the way, you don't need the first ""'s because you only use it IF the item is in (internal) the map.

However, if it is in the map (let's say, stored in a chest), then I think you do have to fill the first ""'s
In that case:

GiveItem("glass_container_1", "glass_container_1", "glass_container", "glass_container.tga", 1);

I would try both, though, just in case Smile
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 08:15 PM by SonOfLiberty796.)
05-06-2012, 08:13 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#3
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Yea i've searched alot about this.

The way i see it

The first "" is the internal name. I need it, because the item is used in a function. = "glass_container"
The second "" is its type = What item it actually is. The item is glass_container (as in the level editor) = "glass_container"
The third "" is for the SubItemTypeName which connects to my .lang file (with the entry name: glass_container) = "glass_container"
And the fourth "" is for the item to have a picture in the inventory = "glass_container.tga"

Therefor i need all of the "". And the script is exactly like the others... with only the item name changed..

Trying is the first step to success.
05-06-2012, 08:26 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#4
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Internal names are required for use item callbacks and the like. GiveItem is normally used for items that don't have a relative .ent file.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
05-06-2012, 08:42 PM
Website Find
SonOfLiberty796 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 371
Threads: 39
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#5
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Quote:Yea i've searched alot about this.

The way i see it

The first "" is the internal name. I need it, because the item is used in a function. = "glass_container"
The second "" is its type = What item it actually is. The item is glass_container (as in the level editor) = "glass_container"
The third "" is for the SubItemTypeName which connects to my .lang file (with the entry name: glass_container) = "glass_container"
And the fourth "" is for the item to have a picture in the inventory = "glass_container.tga"

Therefor i need all of the "". And the script is exactly like the others... with only the item name changed..
(05-06-2012, 08:42 PM)Your Computer Wrote: Internal names are required for use item callbacks and the like. GiveItem is normally used for items that don't have a relative .ent file.
Ahhh ok. Sorry 'bout that (giving you the wrong idea). I was trying to help but I didn't know about the GiveItem's function and the internal names. Confused
05-06-2012, 08:52 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#6
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Sorry if i was rude.. Im glad you want to help Smile I'm just stressed out myself, because im under time pressure... and have worked on this story in a lOooooong time

Trying is the first step to success.
05-06-2012, 09:03 PM
Find
SonOfLiberty796 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 371
Threads: 39
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#7
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

(05-06-2012, 09:03 PM)beecake Wrote: Sorry if i was rude.. Im glad you want to help Smile I'm just stressed out myself, because im under time pressure... and have worked on this story in a lOooooong time
You weren't rude Smile I understand your situation too. I've been working on my full conversion too and it's almost been a year (except it isn't a "year's worth of work", it's because sometimes I didn't have time to work on it and also because there was times where I wanted to quit/did quit, but restored back up due to some wanting it and I HAVE to release it this week, because I don't want to "lag it" again.

And not to mention, my beta testers say I need a lot to work on and stuff (and they are being helpful and giving me tips Smile ) but it's ok because it's my first story haha.

Hope yours goes well Smile
05-06-2012, 09:10 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#8
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

It really does... Im just so close to finish and then this shows up... Hope i get an answer soon. Otherwise i will have to do something else...

Trying is the first step to success.
05-06-2012, 09:17 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#9
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

Basic steps to debugging:

Step 1: refer to the hpl.log.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
05-06-2012, 09:19 PM
Website Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#10
RE: can't give Glass_container? Say wut?

The hpl.log? How do i paste it. It isn't my notepad++ file right?

EDIT: I think i got it


Attached Files
.log   hpl.log (Size: 43.18 KB / Downloads: 100)

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 09:26 PM by FlawlessHappiness.)
05-06-2012, 09:20 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)