Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#81
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 06:52 PM)Magnum66 Wrote: Thank you so much Pluto, you've been such a great help. <3

AMD's drivers can sometimes be annoying. Did it work ok? You should have the latest legacy Catalyst 13.1 installed now.

(08-18-2013, 06:54 PM)Derp Wrote: OS: Windows 7x64
CPU: i7-2670qm -(2.20ghz)
nvididia geforce 540m
8GB RAM
can i run it ?
i need to know before i pre-order

My laptop also has a 540M. You won't have any issues at low settings. Amnesia could run at medium with solid fps. The pigs are "heavier".

(08-18-2013, 07:10 PM)Vertical Wrote: Same here. Are these enough to run AMFP? Thank you in advance.

OS: Windows 7 (64bit)
CPU: AMD Athlon II Dual-Core M320 2.10GHz
GRAPHICS: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
MEMORY: 4GB RAM

Your graphics card supports OpenGL 3.2 so it should technically run the pigs probably at lower settings below medium.

EDIT:

(08-18-2013, 07:25 PM)Magnum66 Wrote: Ugh nevermind, it won't let me install version 13.1 Sad My pc crashes and won't let me do it. Oh well Sad

It's like I knew it. Oh AMD... When does it crash exactly?
(This post was last modified: 08-18-2013, 07:35 PM by plutomaniac.)
08-18-2013, 07:30 PM
Find Reply
Magnum66 Offline
Member

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
#82
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 07:30 PM)plutomaniac Wrote:
(08-18-2013, 06:52 PM)Magnum66 Wrote: Thank you so much Pluto, you've been such a great help. <3

AMD's drivers can sometimes be annoying. Did it work ok? You should have the latest legacy Catalyst 13.1 installed now.

I'm not even sure if it fully worked. I was installing 13.1 and my pc crashed near the end saying problems occurred. I restarted and checked again, my graphics went from this:

http://puu.sh/441m9.png

to this:

http://puu.sh/44V5G.png

So was version 8.770 and now 8.970 and other slight stuff on the side but that was it. I'm worried since it crashed it didn't really install properly. So hard to say Sad Sad I have such bad luck.

Patiently awaiting Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs...
08-18-2013, 07:35 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#83
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 07:35 PM)Magnum66 Wrote: I'm not even sure if it fully worked. I was installing 13.1 and my pc crashed near the end saying problems occurred. I restarted and checked again, my graphics went from this:

http://puu.sh/441m9.png

to this:

http://puu.sh/44V5G.png

So was version 8.770 and now 8.970 and other slight stuff on the side but that was it. I'm worried since it crashed it didn't really install properly. So hard to say Sad Sad I have such bad luck.

Technically it's installed but some driver parts might be corrupted due to bad installation and that's why a BSOD occurred. Try a clean reinstallation by following question 3 HERE.
(This post was last modified: 08-18-2013, 07:47 PM by plutomaniac.)
08-18-2013, 07:47 PM
Find Reply
Magnum66 Offline
Member

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
#84
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 07:47 PM)plutomaniac Wrote:
(08-18-2013, 07:35 PM)Magnum66 Wrote: I'm not even sure if it fully worked. I was installing 13.1 and my pc crashed near the end saying problems occurred. I restarted and checked again, my graphics went from this:

http://puu.sh/441m9.png

to this:

http://puu.sh/44V5G.png

So was version 8.770 and now 8.970 and other slight stuff on the side but that was it. I'm worried since it crashed it didn't really install properly. So hard to say Sad Sad I have such bad luck.

Technically it's installed but some driver parts might be corrupted due to bad installation and that's why a BSOD occurred. Try a clean reinstallation by following question 3 HERE.

Knowing my luck it would extremely fuck up my PC. I've always had absolutely HORRIBLE luck and knowing me it would just ruin my entire PC. Thanks anyways though. Sad Oh well.

Patiently awaiting Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs...
08-18-2013, 07:56 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#85
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

I strongly advise you to follow those steps. This BSOD could happen randomly at games or during idle usage and it might be the old drivers leftovers causing problems or a bad installation of the new one. If you follow the steps, you will see that no problems should arise. Smile
08-18-2013, 08:00 PM
Find Reply
Magnum66 Offline
Member

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
#86
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 08:00 PM)plutomaniac Wrote: I strongly advise you to follow those steps. This BSOD could happen randomly at games or during idle usage and it might be the old drivers leftovers causing problems or a bad installation of the new one. If you follow the steps, you will see that no problems should arise. Smile

Okay I finally went through with it with the help of a friend. He really knows his stuff when it comes to PC's so he was a big help. I followed your steps and any other questions I asked him. Managed to uninstall and remove all current graphic drivers and components and use driver sweeper. Rebooted and resolution was bad but that's to be expected. Reinstalled Version 13.1 for my AMD and it worked fine this time! It never crashed and fully finished installation. Rebooted my PC once more and it looks great now! Also my dxdiag still says my graphics is ver 8.970 now. Now I just have to worry about possibly getting some more RAM to equal the 4GB of recommended requirements. Other than that though I fail safe with running A Machine For Pigs on either Low or Medium settings.

Thank you so much Pluto, you've been a terrific and massive help. I really appreciate it. Smile

Patiently awaiting Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs...
08-18-2013, 09:10 PM
Find Reply
LordOfDragons Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 501
Threads: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 13
#87
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

All the talking about the requirements... Brrr i went to a site to check my laptop and they clearly said: No, you dont meet the minimum >:

But who should i trust: Pluto who said: Yeh i wont have issues, or this check on the website...

Argh cant believe im going crazeh just because of a 5 hour game ;_;

The question that will never be answered:
SOMA WHY ARE YOU SO BEAUTIFUL? ;_;
08-18-2013, 09:25 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#88
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Yes, now you are good to go. Throw some ram there and you should be able to play at low just fine the way I see it. Have fun! Smile
08-18-2013, 09:25 PM
Find Reply
Darkchef Offline
Member

Posts: 160
Threads: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#89
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-18-2013, 05:17 PM)Magnum66 Wrote:
(08-18-2013, 11:08 AM)Darkchef Wrote: Just update your PCs before the 10th and you will be fine Tongue

But seriously, I wouldn't say the specs were that high for games these days. Gaming on intel integrated graphics never ends well anyway...

The thing is I can't really update my PC. I have a laptop and I could upgrade and get more RAM, but I can't really get a new graphics card, and I've been looking all around to update my graphics driver and I can't find anything. My version is definitely not updated but it keeps saying I have the latest version.

The RAM will help a lot, especially for a laptop graphics card as it shares the RAM. Graphics card issues can sometimes be fixed with driver updates.
08-18-2013, 09:31 PM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#90
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-17-2013, 10:44 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: Give me some time and I'll let you know about the equivalent AMD CPU requirements.

Minimum Requirements
Windows Vista, OS X 10.6.8, Major Linux Distribution from 2010.
Mid-range NVIDIA GeForce 2x0 / AMD Radeon HD 5xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i5/AMD A10 CPU or equivalent.
2 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.

Recommended Requirements
Windows 7, OS X 10.7.5, Major Linux Distribution from 2012.
High-range NVIDIA GeForce 5x0 / AMD Radeon HD 6xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i7/AMD FX-38xx CPU or equivalent.
4 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.

Added AMD cpu requirements based on intel ones. Changes in bold.

NOTICE: Not final for AMD, my recommendations. Jens has to approve first.
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 09:53 AM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 12:11 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)