Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Demo stops working when entering the mine
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#11
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Thib_G Wrote:I think it's related to VSync, no ?

What Distro/system specs are you running on?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-19-2007, 08:31 PM
Website Find
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
#12
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Urkle, I think it's about VSync because :
- It's one of the settings that changes,
- I had to disable VBlank in Beryl to fix a little issue with it ( hang when coming back to X from a tty )
05-19-2007, 08:36 PM
Find
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
#13
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

I'm running Feisty fawn and I use nvidia-glx drivers ( waiting for nouveau )
05-19-2007, 08:40 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#14
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Thib_G Wrote:Urkle, I think it's about VSync because :
- It's one of the settings that changes,
- I had to disable VBlank in Beryl to fix a little issue with it ( hang when coming back to X from a tty )

Yeah I have that issue too when running the game inside beryl.. Hence I always debug from my Mac instead of from another terminalSmile Never tried turning off vblank.

But in the game sync to vblank is disabled by default.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-19-2007, 09:03 PM
Website Find
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
#15
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Urkle, I'm not playing with beryl, but it's the same Xorg configuration, so, it could be related.
If it's not because of you, you should put this issue on a FAQ, for instance.
05-19-2007, 09:18 PM
Find
MIT_Service Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
#16
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

First: I got it running now!

My previous Situation: I installed the demo to a new directory, but did not remove the beta3 first. I am using XFCE4 as a window manager with the compositing extension for Xorg enabled. But I'm not using Beryl or compiz or anything like that...

I tried disabling vblank, but that didn't help. Then I removed the whole .frictionalgames dir from my home directory and the demo worked like a charm!

Looking forward to buying the full game soon Wink
05-20-2007, 11:11 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)