Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Stories Will Not Load
joey1245 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Custom Stories Will Not Load

I've been trying to get a few of my unfinished custom stroies onto my game so I can test them and get them to work, but they don't appear under custom stories. I've got them in that folder though and I think i've got the right folder and script layout. Could anybody tell me the order of the folders and scripts? Or simply why it's not working?
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2011, 11:23 AM by joey1245.)
09-15-2011, 11:33 AM
Find Reply
AmnesiaIsScary :S Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 22
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 1
#2
RE: Custom Stories Will Not Loading

You should have the extra_english.lang and the custom_story_settings.cfg in the main story folder.
Then inside a folder called "maps" you put in the "yourmapname.map" and the "yourmapname.hps"

If I Understood this was your question ...
09-15-2011, 05:46 PM
Find Reply
joey1245 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Custom Stories Will Not Loading

(09-15-2011, 05:46 PM)AmnesiaIsScary :S Wrote: You should have the extra_english.lang and the custom_story_settings.cfg in the main story folder.
Then inside a folder called "maps" you put in the "yourmapname.map" and the "yourmapname.hps"

If I Understood this was your question ...

Inside the custom stories folder, I have two other folders, one for each map i've got so far. Inside both of those folders, I have a maps folder, then the map the settings and extra english scripts. Do I need to put the scripts in a different folder?
09-15-2011, 07:57 PM
Find Reply
Obliviator27 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 792
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 66
#4
RE: Custom Stories Will Not Loading

Here's what you want.

in custom_stories
There will be a list of all the stories you have. Select yours.

In [Your Custom Story Name]
There should be at least
- Maps folder
- extra_english.lang
- custom_story_settings.cfg

in Maps
- Levels
- Corresponding .hps files
09-16-2011, 12:15 AM
Find Reply
joey1245 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Custom Stories Will Not Load

(09-16-2011, 12:15 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: Here's what you want.

in custom_stories
There will be a list of all the stories you have. Select yours.

In [Your Custom Story Name]
There should be at least
- Maps folder
- extra_english.lang
- custom_story_settings.cfg

in Maps
- Levels
- Corresponding .hps files

Still didn't work. What exactly should I have in the .hps file?
09-16-2011, 11:20 AM
Find Reply
Obliviator27 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 792
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 66
#6
RE: Custom Stories Will Not Load

(09-16-2011, 11:20 AM)joey1245 Wrote:
(09-16-2011, 12:15 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: Here's what you want.

in custom_stories
There will be a list of all the stories you have. Select yours.

In [Your Custom Story Name]
There should be at least
- Maps folder
- extra_english.lang
- custom_story_settings.cfg

in Maps
- Levels
- Corresponding .hps files

Still didn't work. What exactly should I have in the .hps file?
In your .hps file, you want at least this much code.
void OnStart()
{
}

void OnEnter
{
}

void OnLeave
{
}

In your custom_story_settings, you want
<Main     
    ImgFile = ""
    Name = "[Custom Story Name]"
    Author = "[Your Name]"

    MapsFolder = "Maps[Or however you have it spelled]"
    StartMap = "[Map to Start at, with .map extension]"
    StartPos = "[The playerstart area]"
/>
And in your extra_english, you're gonna want
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">[The description for your custom story.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>  
</LANGUAGE>
at bare minimum.

09-16-2011, 02:35 PM
Find Reply


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Human Verification
Please tick the checkbox that you see below. This process is used to prevent automated spam bots.



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)