Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Need "menu_bg.map" File! D=
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#1
Need "menu_bg.map" File! D=

Okay, so for my campaign I am making, I wanted to make a new background to fit the theme. (Possibly a conversion mod, but I am struggling to understand that. If someone would like to help me with that, PM me and we'll talk =]) The map and custom music load up, but there's a problem... In game, It's not showing the static_objects (mainly walls) and floors and ceilings. But some entities show and if you study for a minute, the map still shows some of the old menu_bg.map entities.

In attachments are a photo of the in-game menu. And in another, is a screenshot of the menu_bg.map in the Level Editor, how it SHOULD look.

If someone could tell me how to make the walls/floors/ceilings show up and how the old menu objects could disappear, I'd be extremely grateful.
(This post was last modified: 10-05-2011, 09:36 PM by Statyk.)
10-05-2011, 12:36 AM
Find Reply
palistov Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,208
Threads: 67
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 57
#2
RE: menu_bg.map Change is Bugged Out!

Check your resources.cfg file. Should be the 8th line. It needs to say <Directory Path="/static_objects" AddSubDirs="true" />. It seems like your conversion mod isn't loading up the static objects folders so the statics and primitive textures don't show up in the menu map and won't do so in-game either.

(This post was last modified: 10-05-2011, 12:52 AM by palistov.)
10-05-2011, 12:51 AM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#3
RE: menu_bg.map Change is Bugged Out!

Its just a replaced .map file. It's not a conversion mod. I said I would LIKE to do a conversion mod. the resource.cgf is perectly fine

Actually... Is someone able to email me the original menu_bg.map? please? I lost it accidentally...
(This post was last modified: 10-05-2011, 01:51 AM by Statyk.)
10-05-2011, 01:18 AM
Find Reply
ZyLogicX Offline
Member

Posts: 245
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 6
#4
RE: Need "menu_bg.map" File! D=

I dont think it's possible to script your menu_bg.map

In other news, here is the original menu_bg.map:
http://www.mediafire.com/?09p210fps8lkh38

Beyond the Mountains of Madness [15%]
This forum is dying.
10-05-2011, 02:28 PM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#5
RE: Need "menu_bg.map" File! D=

(10-05-2011, 02:28 PM)ZyLogicX Wrote: I dont think it's possible to script your menu_bg.map

In other news, here is the original menu_bg.map:
http://www.mediafire.com/?09p210fps8lkh38
Thats what I needed! thank you so much! But it turns out the reason why the menu was bugged out was because I replaced the "menu_bg.map" file with the new one, but I never deleted the ".map_cache". Once I deleted that, it's working better than ever =]

You can see my map so far (including the menu) by clicking on the link in my signature if you're interested!

10-05-2011, 09:35 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)