Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Couldn't find any suitable frontend
hollandhards Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago Couldn't find any suitable frontend

i got a kubuntu 7.04 installation, on a x64 althon system.
i'm realy confused why the installer wouldn't start.

Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing nixstaller............................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Warning: No installer for "x86_64" found, defaulting to x86...
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

i do have a recent gcc version, libstdc++.so. versions are at my lib dir.
btw; it's the demo, don't have full game
anyone please?
(This post was last modified: 05-28-2007, 08:18 PM by fortminor.)
05-28-2007, 08:15 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

Make sure you have the 32-bit compatability libstdc++.so installed, as the installer IS 32 bit, as well as the game.

hollandhards Wrote:i got a kubuntu 7.04 installation, on a x64 althon system.
i'm realy confused why the installer wouldn't start.

Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing nixstaller............................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Warning: No installer for "x86_64" found, defaulting to x86...
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

i do have a recent gcc version, libstdc++.so. versions are at my lib dir.
btw; it's the demo, don't have full game
anyone please?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-28-2007, 09:47 PM
Website Find
hollandhards Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

i tried the linu32 wrapper
derk@derk-desktop:~/Desktop$ linux32 ./PenumbraOvertureDemo-1.0.1.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing nixstaller............................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system
still same issue.
05-28-2007, 10:14 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

The linux32 wrapper only "fakes" the reported CPU as an x86 instead of an x86_64 to any command run as it's arguments.

The reason the installer would fail to find a frontend is if it can not find the 32 bit system libstdc++.so.6 . Make sure you have the 32-bit version of libstdc++ by locating yoru libstdc++.so.6 and running "file" on it.
$ find /usr/lib{,32,64} -name "libstdc*so.*"
/usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.8
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.7
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
$ file -L /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6:     ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), stripped

Make sure it says 32-bit!!.. if all of the libstdc++ files you have installed say 64-bit then you need to install the 32bit version.

If it still failes run
nohup sh -x ./PenumbraOvertureDemo-1.0.1.sh

And attach the generated nohup.out to this thread.

hollandhards Wrote:i tried the linu32 wrapper
derk@derk-desktop:~/Desktop$ linux32 ./PenumbraOvertureDemo-1.0.1.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing nixstaller............................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system
still same issue.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-28-2007, 10:26 PM
Website Find
MrWibble Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

I have this problem as well. Alas I am using Suse 9.2 64bit and I cannot seem to find a compatibility library. If I try and install the 32 bit version of libstdc++ I get faced with 'Dependency Hell' in Yast as every application installed is using the 32bit version.

Urkle Wrote:The linux32 wrapper only "fakes" the reported CPU as an x86 instead of an x86_64 to any command run as it's arguments.

The reason the installer would fail to find a frontend is if it can not find the 32 bit system libstdc++.so.6 . Make sure you have the 32-bit version of libstdc++ by locating yoru libstdc++.so.6 and running "file" on it.
$ find /usr/lib{,32,64} -name "libstdc*so.*"
/usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.8
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.7
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
$ file -L /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6:     ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), stripped

Make sure it says 32-bit!!.. if all of the libstdc++ files you have installed say 64-bit then you need to install the 32bit version.

If it still failes run
nohup sh -x ./PenumbraOvertureDemo-1.0.1.sh

And attach the generated nohup.out to this thread.

hollandhards Wrote:i tried the linu32 wrapper
derk@derk-desktop:~/Desktop$ linux32 ./PenumbraOvertureDemo-1.0.1.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing nixstaller............................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system
still same issue.
09-23-2007, 07:02 PM
Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

So, I do have a 32 bit libstdc++.so.6, it's in /usr/lib32.

Even if I set LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib32 I still get the problem regarding the suitable frontend.

There isn't any way that I can put a 32 bit version of the library into /usr/lib since that would totally mess up the remainder of my system.

Thoughts?
05-07-2010, 05:39 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#7
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

Which version are you installing kweinert?? is it the new Humble indie bundle? The installers for that contain both 32bit and 64bit installer binaries for GTK, fltk, and ncurses (text mode).

And libs in /usr/lib32 are fine.. if you look at /etc/ld.so.conf (and maybe /etc/ld.so.conf.d/) /usr/lib32 is actually already added to the library path..

you may need to run
ldconfig
as root to refresh the LD config.

NOTE the game itself is still ONLY 32bit.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-07-2010, 02:55 PM
Website Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

(05-07-2010, 02:55 PM)Urkle Wrote: Which version are you installing kweinert?? is it the new Humble indie bundle? The installers for that contain both 32bit and 64bit installer binaries for GTK, fltk, and ncurses (text mode).

Yes, it's the Humble indie bundle.

(05-07-2010, 02:55 PM)Urkle Wrote: And libs in /usr/lib32 are fine.. if you look at /etc/ld.so.conf (and maybe /etc/ld.so.conf.d/) /usr/lib32 is actually already added to the library path..

you may need to run
ldconfig
as root to refresh the LD config.

NOTE the game itself is still ONLY 32bit.

Still no joy. I did not have a reference to /usr/lib32 in any of the ldconfig areas, so I created /etc/ld.so.conf.d/lib32 and put it in there, ran ldconfig.

Earlier in the thread someone was talking about libstdc++.so.6 which is in that directory. I'm not sure what other libraries you depend on, but I do have a lib32 version of GTK, but it's in a subdirectory of /usr/lib32 (/usr/lib32/libgtk2.0-0) I'm not entirely clear on this issue, but if you do need GTK for this program, will I need to add that specific subdirectory or will having the top level version include all the subdirectories?

Thanks for you assistance.

BTW: this is Ubuntu 10.04, obviously a 64 bit system.
05-07-2010, 03:39 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#9
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

what exactly is the output/error you are receiving when you try and run the installer?

Basically what the installer does is "check" each library combination for 64bit and 32bit to see what installer it can run. Now a nice "Fallback" (well not really nice nice.. but it works) is to use the ncurses installer which has no dependencies.

DISPLAY= ./PenumbraOverture.sh

it'll be in text mode but it should install regardless.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-07-2010, 05:54 PM
Website Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 2 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

kenw@fortytwo:~$ DISPLAY= ./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Penumbra: Overture.............
Uncompressing sub archive..............................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system
kenw@fortytwo:~$

That's as fas as it ever gets. It doesn't look like an installer ever starts up.
05-07-2010, 11:38 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)