Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system
Moby1de Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

Fedora 15; 64bit;
Ati x1600 mobility (MBP 2.1)
I bought Amnesia today, but...

[markus@markus Fedora]$ ./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............
Uncompressing sub archive...............................................................................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system


[markus@markus Fedora]$ ./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh -f ncurses
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............
Uncompressing sub archive...............................................................................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system


[markus@markus Fedora]$ ./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh -f fltk
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............
Uncompressing sub archive...............................................................................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system


[markus@markus Fedora]$ ./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh --keep --target TEMP --noexec
Creating directory TEMP
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............


[markus@markus Fedora]$ ldd TEMP/bin/linux/*/*/*
TEMP/bin/linux/x86_64/libc.so.6/lzma-decode:
linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007fffd716d000)
libc.so.6 => /lib64/libc.so.6 (0x0000003508e00000)
/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x0000003508a00000)
TEMP/bin/linux/x86/libc.so.6/lzma-decode:
not a dynamic executable
[markus@markus Fedora]$ heeeelp Wink
(This post was last modified: 10-08-2011, 11:25 PM by Moby1de.)
10-08-2011, 06:13 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

how much free disk space do you have on /tmp ??

you need to have at LEST 2GB free.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-08-2011, 09:17 PM
Website Find
Moby1de Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

ups
i have 1,5 gb (ramdisk)....
It works! thank you
10-08-2011, 11:24 PM
Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

Hi,

I am on Ubuntu

As Amnesia wasn't working anymore and because I saw a more recent version on the frictional website, I deleted my previous Amnesia folder and downloaded the latest version. But now, when i try to run the .sh I have this error "Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system" with a message about a lack of space on root ... And this message was talking about some space (some mo) but now it's speaking about 0 bytes while I only tried to install amnesia ... I don't understand what I can do ... I have a lot of space on home, and i can't access root to free some space.

There is 264.5kb on tmp and 1.9GB of free space ...

Maybe I need to extend root space (which is weird, I don't have any problems with other installations and Ubuntu run smoothly)?.

I am stuck here.
02-14-2012, 06:08 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

The installer extracts itself to /tmp, then extracts some more, and then finally runs.

So you need a good 2.5-3GB free on /tmp OR specify --target with a location that has more free space.

pass --help to the installer for other startup options.

I'm working with the developer of the installer to find better ways of handling the packaging and extraction of the installer to improve this experience. It's not so bad with small 30-60MB games, but with Amnesia or Penumbra collection.. it's quite painful. My /tmp is always 2-3GB so I never ran into this locally:-D

Oh, and BTW.. I use Fedora 16 myself...

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 02-14-2012, 06:32 PM by Urkle.)
02-14-2012, 06:32 PM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

Thanks for the quick answer.

I tried
./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh --frontend -f /home/shad/Games/Amnesia/tmp --target dir /home/shad/Games/Amnesia/tmp --destfir -d /home/shad/Games/Amnesia
without success Sad

He spoke about 315mo left, then about 0 again ... I guess the amnesia installer fill the /tmp ... and so that I did something wrong in the command line.
02-14-2012, 08:24 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

try
./amnesia_tdd_1.2.sh --target /home/shad/tmp

--frontend and -f are aliases for the same command and --target dir means "Replace dir with the directory"

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
02-14-2012, 08:26 PM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: FC15/FC16 Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

It worked !!! Thank you very much. Sorry for inconvenience.
02-14-2012, 08:38 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)