Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help How to create a sound trigger area?
Viuffuz Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
How to create a sound trigger area?

I need help with creating an area that plays a sound only once when I enter that area for the first time.
I'd like to see a working example of that script. Smile Thank you for your time.
01-01-2012, 06:49 PM
Find
BlueFury Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 9
#2
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

I think it was:
void PlaySoundAtEntity(string& asSoundName, string& asSoundFile, string& asEntity, float afFadeTime, bool abSaveSound);
asSoundName - internal name
asSoundFile - the sound to use + extension .snt
asEntity - the entity to create the sound at, can be “Player”
afFadeTime - time in seconds the sound needs to fade




Correct me if i'm wrong.

Sticks and stones may break our bones, but words will break our hearts. – Robert Fulghum
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2012, 06:56 PM by BlueFury.)
01-01-2012, 06:51 PM
Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#3
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

continuing with BlueFury, try this. Make a script area where you would like the player to walk into to make the noise. Name it "soundarea" and try this:

//____________________

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "soundarea", "sound_func", true, 1);
}

void sound_func(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "SOUNDNAME.SNT", "OBJECT_WHERE_SOUND_OCCURS", 0, true);
}
01-01-2012, 07:58 PM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

(01-01-2012, 07:58 PM)Statyk Wrote: continuing with BlueFury, try this. Make a script area where you would like the player to walk into to make the noise. Name it "soundarea" and try this:

//____________________

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "soundarea", "sound_func", true, 1);
}

void sound_func(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "SOUNDNAME.SNT", "OBJECT_WHERE_SOUND_OCCURS", 0, true);
}

make sure your void sound_func is outside onstart though.


Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2012, 09:00 PM by eagledude4.)
01-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Find
Viuffuz Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

hmmm.. What am I doing wrong?

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "soundarea", "sound_func", true, 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt_1" , true);
}

void sound_func(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "close_door.snt", "level_wood_1", 0, true);
}
01-03-2012, 08:22 AM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#6
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

(01-03-2012, 08:22 AM)Viuffuz Wrote: hmmm.. What am I doing wrong?

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "soundarea", "sound_func", true, 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt_1" , true);
}

void sound_func(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "close_door.snt", "level_wood_1", 0, true);
}
The script seems fine. Is the sound not playing?


01-03-2012, 08:36 AM
Find
Viuffuz Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: How to create a sound trigger area?

Yeah, I can't hear the sound... :/

Ahh now I got it guys I just had to restart the level editor and Amnesia! Smile Thank you very much!!!
(This post was last modified: 01-03-2012, 12:55 PM by Viuffuz.)
01-03-2012, 12:53 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)