Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Scripting
Auralous Offline

Threads: 3
Scripting

Hi all, I'm new to this community but have always loved Amnesia, and played through White Night as well. I love customizing, and making my own things, but have never made my own mod for a game before. I am confident that I can learn how to map in due time with the Level Editor and many tutorials. My only question is, since I have never coded or scripted something like... ever before, I am completely new to it, is modding actually possible still for people like me? I actually don't know how difficult scripting events can be, especially on White Night level. I know I can't learn it all overnight, I just wanted an idea and some hope that I can make my own well made game without years of coding knowledge.

Thanks!
01-04-2012, 02:45 AM
Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Threads: 72
RE: Scripting

Honestly, what I did was study and mimic other modders' scripts. Used a FEW tutorials (mainly self-taught) and once I got the feel for it, I began to test my own scripts. As simple as screen effects, timers, collide areas... Now I've been getting into "if" functions (worry about those after you get the hang of the basics) and other "moderate" functions. But I'm not the best. Another thing that helped me was to use the Frictional Games wiki tutorials as well as the function list.

Download a simple campaign and study how it's functions work towards the game and also keep an eye on the script function list as well! It's your guide, your blueprint to getting the hang of scripting. HPL scripting isn't too hard for the basics. Save the hard stuff for MUCH later =]
01-04-2012, 02:51 AM
Find
Makoton Offline

Threads: 1