Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#11
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

(04-18-2012, 04:29 PM)RenanFOX2 Wrote: This Tutorial is not working.

It says "Unexpected end of file" on the end of your sprict.

Please can you tell how to call your script?
Have you downloaded the map linked in the original post? If you look around there you should find how I called the script Smile


Ok now it's fixed Smile

(This post was last modified: 04-20-2012, 02:31 PM by SilentStriker.)
04-20-2012, 02:29 PM
Find Reply
Dutton Offline
Member

Posts: 121
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
#12
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

A video tutorial would be great Smile!

[Image: 15isy6C]
04-20-2012, 06:16 PM
Find Reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#13
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

(04-20-2012, 06:16 PM)Dutton Wrote: A video tutorial would be great Smile!
Yes I'm actually thinking about making some video tutorials on different stuff Smile

04-20-2012, 06:58 PM
Find Reply
Cocomunches Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 36
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
#14
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

Can someone help me out? Everything is working fine, but when I use the crowbar and push it, sound plays, crowbar breaks, all is well....

But the door is still there. Tongue

Anyone help?
05-11-2012, 09:55 PM
Find Reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#15
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

Well my script only unlocks the door and not destroy it Smile then instead of using SetSwingDoorLocked use SetPropHealth, the door destroys at 0 health Smile

05-11-2012, 10:18 PM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#16
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

(05-11-2012, 09:55 PM)Cocomunches Wrote: Can someone help me out? Everything is working fine, but when I use the crowbar and push it, sound plays, crowbar breaks, all is well....

But the door is still there. Tongue

Anyone help?
It's because your door isn't named "mansion_1".

SilentStriker, while isolating the code that you found in "10_daniels_room.hps" is helpful, understanding the code would improve this tutorial, because it would give you an understanding of things like
- how to help people that are having problems with the code.
- that the entity named "crowbar_dyn_1" is actually a "crowbar_broken", and not a "crowbar_dyn".
- that the code is playing a sound at "asTimer", which (while it works for this particular code) is just bizarre.
It's not hard to copy and paste code. I expect more from a tutorial.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

(This post was last modified: 05-12-2012, 01:51 AM by Cranky Old Man.)
05-12-2012, 01:34 AM
Find Reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#17
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

Yes you're absolutely right Cranky! When I made this I just wanted to release a understandable tutorial but yes I needs some improvements Smile

(05-12-2012, 01:34 AM)Cranky Old Man Wrote:
(05-11-2012, 09:55 PM)Cocomunches Wrote: Can someone help me out? Everything is working fine, but when I use the crowbar and push it, sound plays, crowbar breaks, all is well....

But the door is still there. Tongue

Anyone help?
It's because your door isn't named "mansion_1".

SilentStriker, while isolating the code that you found in "10_daniels_room.hps" is helpful, understanding the code would improve this tutorial, because it would give you an understanding of things like
- how to help people that are having problems with the code.
- that the entity named "crowbar_dyn_1" is actually a "crowbar_broken", and not a "crowbar_dyn".
- that the code is playing a sound at "asTimer", which (while it works for this particular code) is just bizarre.
It's not hard to copy and paste code. I expect more from a tutorial.
I hope it's bit better now Smile If not tell me what I should change Smile

(This post was last modified: 05-12-2012, 12:35 PM by SilentStriker.)
05-12-2012, 12:07 PM
Find Reply
pontusry Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
#18
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

You should probably mention that this:

AddPropImpulse("NAMEOFYOURDOOR", -1, 2, -4, "world");


Should be this:

AddPropImpulse("NAMEOFYOURDOOR", afX, afY, afZ, "world");


afX: Direction along the X-axis
afY: Direction along the Y-axis
afZ: Direction along the Z-axis

Since it's true on "world", then it won't be correct for everybody if they use the same amounts.

If you can't explain it simply, you don't know it well enough.
(This post was last modified: 05-14-2012, 11:29 PM by pontusry.)
05-14-2012, 11:27 PM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#19
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

(05-12-2012, 12:07 PM)SilentStriker Wrote: I hope it's bit better now Smile If not tell me what I should change Smile
Changing all the names to be more generic, is only taking care of the easy part.
The next general step in what you could change, is for you to understand the code itself, because what kind of bugs me, is that you don't show any understanding of what you teach. You have extracted some code from the FG code, and that's great, but there are many ways in which this code can be made more comprehensible.

It doesn't bother me that much. I saw this topic before and I just shrugged at it without commenting on it, so I don't mind if you don't understand it.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

05-14-2012, 11:52 PM
Find Reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#20
RE: [Tutorial] Use crowbar to open a door

Either I'm just a bit slow today or I don't really understand what you meen (my nativ language is swedish)

I know what everything in the code does but I guess I'm not showing it properly?

05-15-2012, 07:18 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)