Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Need help with .lang file, its weird.
julianprokop Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 7
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Need help with .lang file, its weird.

Hey so, when I pick up my key, it only says "picked up" instead of "picked up Room Key".

Here is my .lang code. This is driving me nuts. I renamed the sub item type name to roomkey, I just do not uderstand why this isn't working. Any help would be great thanks!

Also, how do can make a custom message appear when I interact with entities like doors?


<LANGUAGE>
   <CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
      <Entry Name="Description">
         Just a brief description!
      </Entry>
   </CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>



<LANGUAGE>
   <CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
      <Entry Name="ItemDesc_roomkey">"Room Key"</Entry>
      <Entry Name="ItemName_roomkey">"Room Key"</Entry>
        
   </CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2012, 08:07 AM by julianprokop.)
02-12-2012, 08:06 AM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#2
RE: Need help with .lang file, its weird.

For starters, you're only supposed to have one LANGUAGE element. Also, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xM8cMhPw_...8&index=10

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
02-12-2012, 08:12 AM
Website Find Reply
julianprokop Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 7
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Need help with .lang file, its weird.

thanks, it was just the double language.

Thanks for the link, but his video only works with doors that load to new levels. I need it for normal mansionbase swing doors.
02-12-2012, 10:41 AM
Find Reply
DrDean Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Threads: 7
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 1
#4
RE: Need help with .lang file, its weird.

It's also worth mentioning that running the game to immediately launch into your map (aka dev mode) will also make notes, key names, etc. not appear.
02-12-2012, 06:51 PM
Find Reply
julianprokop Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 7
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Need help with .lang file, its weird.

then, how do I test them?
02-12-2012, 11:27 PM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#6
RE: Need help with .lang file, its weird.

(02-12-2012, 11:27 PM)julianprokop Wrote: then, how do I test them?

It doesn't happen to everyone, but if it happens to you, then you would just use a profile that is for general play.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
02-12-2012, 11:43 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)