Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


The search button
HollowRiku13 Offline
Member

Posts: 93
Threads: 15
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 2
#1
The search button


I didn't know where to post this, so I'll post it here, if it's misplaced, please, move it to the correct Sub-Forum.

I don't want to earn the hatred of everyone, I just want to say something, why no one uses the "Search" button? Seriously, I'm already a little tired of entering the "Development Support" and find 8 or 9 threads with exactly the same question. Many people have already asked the same question, and solved it, the moderators "Use the Search button" nobody seems to pay attention, there are over 100 pages, in which most of the questions are the same . Even Jens wrote this in the forum rules:

" … searches before posting a new thread. Many questions have already been answered in the forum. Use the search button at the top right of our page to find out if your question or topic has already been covered. This way you won’t have to wait for someone to answer. "

Please use this button. I want to clarify one last thing, I didn't made this topic to insult or start a war, please, avoid commenting. Thanks for reading.
04-14-2012, 05:05 AM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#2
RE: The search button

(04-14-2012, 05:05 AM)HollowRiku13 Wrote: I didn't know where to post this, so I'll post it here, if it's misplaced, please, move it to the correct Sub-Forum.

I don't want to earn the hatred of everyone, I just want to say something, why no one uses the "Search" button? Seriously, I'm already a little tired of entering the "Development Support" and find 8 or 9 threads with exactly the same question. Many people have already asked the same question, and solved it, the moderators "Use the Search button" nobody seems to pay attention, there are over 100 pages, in which most of the questions are the same . Even Jens wrote this in the forum rules:

" … searches before posting a new thread. Many questions have already been answered in the forum. Use the search button at the top right of our page to find out if your question or topic has already been covered. This way you won’t have to wait for someone to answer. "

Please use this button. I want to clarify one last thing, I didn't made this topic to insult or start a war, please, avoid commenting. Thanks for reading.
Although I agree, here's two explanations:
First of all, people think that their specific problem is unique and has never happened before.
Second of all, searching for the right words to describe your problem, is sometimes harder than it looks.


Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

04-14-2012, 11:18 AM
Find Reply
HollowRiku13 Offline
Member

Posts: 93
Threads: 15
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 2
#3
RE: The search button

I asked a question a while ago about a problem to teleport the player, first I searched for "teleport" and found several threads, but none of them solved my problem, so I created the thread, but unfortunately that didn't help. So, everything is easy to find if you search a keyword, for example:
you have the same problem as me. You can not teleport the player. Don't search something like "teleport the player from A to B" or "I can't teleport the player" Just search "teleport" and you will find something.

The only type of thread that don't bother me are the "Unexpected end of file / token / etc." because it's hard to see the error in the scripts, especially if these are long scripts, and all the scripts are different.
04-14-2012, 09:45 PM
Find Reply
JenniferOrange Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 424
Threads: 43
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 33
#4
RE: The search button

I always use the search button.
Everyone's just mad 'cause you have to wait like 20 seconds to search again.

Ba-da bing, ba-da boom.
04-14-2012, 09:53 PM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#5
RE: The search button

For those who don't know: You can use Google to search the forums, just make sure site:frictionalgames.com is in the query.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
04-14-2012, 09:56 PM
Website Find Reply
HollowRiku13 Offline
Member

Posts: 93
Threads: 15
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 2
#6
RE: The search button


(04-14-2012, 09:53 PM)JenniferOrange Wrote: I always use the search button.
Everyone's just mad 'cause you have to wait like 20 seconds to search again.
I prefer to wait 20 seconds instead of waiting about 2 hours until someone answers my question.

(04-14-2012, 09:56 PM)Your Computer Wrote: For those who don't know: You can use Google to search the forums, just make sure site:frictionalgames.com is in the query.
This is also quite useful if you can't find any results using the Search button.


04-14-2012, 11:27 PM
Find Reply
Modular100 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Threads: 5
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: The search button

One problem is that the search disregards a lot of words, and if you're a newbie scripter without knowledge of all the proper terms, the search can pretty much slash your whole query simply because you're using too common words.

04-17-2012, 07:50 PM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#8
RE: The search button

(04-17-2012, 07:50 PM)Modular100 Wrote: One problem is that the search disregards a lot of words, and if you're a newbie scripter without knowledge of all the proper terms, the search can pretty much slash your whole query simply because you're using too common words.


In that case, people should still be aware that Google exists, and works just as good.


Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

04-17-2012, 08:40 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)