Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Amnesia won't load
Author Message
Tommyboypsp Offline
Member

Posts: 231
Threads: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 8
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago Amnesia won't load

When I click play on Amnesia it doesn't load.
I'm on an iMac and I use Steam.
Has anyone else had this?
It usually works, but now for some reason when I click it, it just doesn't do anything. I don't even get an error or anything.

Funderbunk Wrote:Playing Amnesia through to the end has increased the size of my genitalia exponentially and made me into a real man.
04-20-2012, 07:44 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Amnesia won't load

Not only wrong forum but also wrong subforum.

Moved to Amnesia MACTS from Penumbra WTS
(This post was last modified: 04-20-2012, 08:05 PM by plutomaniac.)
04-20-2012, 08:05 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Amnesia won't load

I would restart steam, and have steam run a cache validation check to ensure Amnesia is installed correctly.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
04-20-2012, 08:17 PM
Website Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Amnesia won't load

I believe this is a steam issue, as I just installed the steam client
update from yesterday and the game no longer works on my system (e.g.
the system where the mac version was developed).

However, I managed to get it working again.. Here is what I did
  • Delete Steam from my Applications folder.
  • Tell it "NO" when it asks to remove the local data (unless you really want to, you can :-D )
  • Go
    to the Library/Application Support/Steam/ folder and delete EVERYTHING
    except for the SteamApps folder (that is where your installed games are)
  • Re download steam from steampowered.com
  • Reinstall it (drag to Applications folder)
  • launch
    steam and wait for it to update. it may take some time and may even
    claim you have no internet just after downloading updates.. just
    re-launch it again.
  • Once it finishes updating login, and validate your system (Steams authorization process as it thinks you are on a new system)
  • Try
    running amnesia.. It may take a bit as steam resyncs all your games (to
    make sure they are all updated).. But it should run perfectly now.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
04-20-2012, 09:47 PM
Website Find
Tommyboypsp Offline
Member

Posts: 231
Threads: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 8
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Amnesia won't load

Thanks.

Funderbunk Wrote:Playing Amnesia through to the end has increased the size of my genitalia exponentially and made me into a real man.
04-21-2012, 12:53 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)