Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Getting the Credits to Roll
Thief977 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Brick  Getting the Credits to Roll

I'm working on a 3-level quick story for an english project, and I'm almost done. I just got the brute scripted today, but I hit a snag. At first, it looked like the key and bucket of tar in the level just had blank names, but now I see the story's description on the main menu is gone!

From the looks of it, the extra_english.lang file is disconnected somehow. Any ideas how to fix this?

Once I get this patched up, I'll add a link to this quick level for any would-be testers.
Not going for anything of superior quality. It's practically a tech-demo for my class.
(This post was last modified: 05-07-2012, 02:31 AM by Thief977.)
05-06-2012, 05:26 AM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#2
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

You've most likely forgot a tag, used a double quotation character (instead of """), or forgot a double quotation character where there should be. You should try to look for it yourself, but you can always go for option two, and do like everybody else does, and post the entire lang file and waste my time instead.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 07:19 AM by Cranky Old Man.)
05-06-2012, 07:18 AM
Find Reply
Xanthos Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 8
#3
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

You have at least ONE error on it.
Post the script here and we will fix it Tongue

05-06-2012, 12:17 PM
Find Reply
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
#4
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

(05-06-2012, 07:18 AM)Cranky Old Man Wrote: You've most likely forgot a tag, used a double quotation character (instead of """), or forgot a double quotation character where there should be. You should try to look for it yourself, but you can always go for option two, and do like everybody else does, and post the entire lang file and waste my time instead.
I thought helping people was optional? :p

05-06-2012, 01:30 PM
Find Reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 38
#5
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

(05-06-2012, 01:30 PM)Rownbear Wrote:
(05-06-2012, 07:18 AM)Cranky Old Man Wrote: You've most likely forgot a tag, used a double quotation character (instead of """), or forgot a double quotation character where there should be. You should try to look for it yourself, but you can always go for option two, and do like everybody else does, and post the entire lang file and waste my time instead.
I thought helping people was optional? :p
Well, yes, but even voluntarily, systematically checking a large lang file takes awhile, and the voluntaire would only be doing the job that the one being helped could just as "easily" have done himself. I'm just willing to have my time wasted. I shouldn't even be here. I should be modding.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

05-06-2012, 01:39 PM
Find Reply
Thief977 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

Sorry about getting back to you guys so late. A thunderstorm took out the internet, and it just came back up.

So, I'm looking for things like quotations where they shouldn't be? Ok. doesn't seem so bad.
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 07:41 PM by Thief977.)
05-06-2012, 07:24 PM
Find Reply
Thief977 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

Alright, almost got the whole thing done.
The last bit is getting this bucket of tar to unlock a level door. The sound I selected plays, but the door remains locked.

void UsedKeyOnDoor4(string &in asItem, string &in asEntit)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("level_wood_2", false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "ui_use_oil", "level_wood_2", 0, false);
RemoveItem("bucket_of_tar");
}

Any ideas? I read somewhere that level doors unlock differently.
05-06-2012, 09:40 PM
Find Reply
Xanthos Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 8
#8
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

Level door script is
SetLevelDoorLocked("level1", false);

05-06-2012, 09:53 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#9
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

Yes... Pretty easy Smile instead of, SetSwingDoorLocked then SetLevelDoorLocked because swing door is a normal door and level door is a level door Wink also the level door does not have the effect option so it should just be ("leveldoorname", false);

Trying is the first step to success.
05-06-2012, 09:56 PM
Find Reply
Thief977 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: Almost Done / Lang File Error

If this works, I love you guys.

Nope, an error came up when I got to the level:

FATAL ERROR: Could not load script file "map location"
main (35,2) : ERR : No matching signatures to 'SetLevelDoorLocked(string@&, const bool, const bool)'

This is line 35:
SetLevelDoorLocked("level_wood_2", false, true);
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2012, 10:35 PM by Thief977.)
05-06-2012, 09:58 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)