Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
custom background map [SOLVED]
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#1
custom background map [SOLVED]

My custom background map shows up completely black... I've seen other with the same problem, and followed what other people suggested. Didn't work. here is how it looks:

[Image: 1q4cxh.png]

EDIT: I know it says (modified) but i have saved more than once Wink

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 05-14-2012, 09:04 AM by FlawlessHappiness.)
05-14-2012, 08:04 AM
Find Reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 647
Threads: 32
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
#2
RE: custom background map

(05-14-2012, 08:04 AM)beecake Wrote: My custom background map shows up completely black... I've seen other with the same problem, and followed what other people suggested. Didn't work. here is how it looks:

[Image: 1q4cxh.png]

EDIT: I know it says (modified) but i have saved more than once Wink
my guess would be to try adding a bright boxlight over the map, and see if its visible then. if it is, then the pointlight youre using is probably too dim

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
05-14-2012, 08:11 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#3
RE: custom background map

No, still black Sad

[Image: 2a8hxed.png]

Trying is the first step to success.
05-14-2012, 08:18 AM
Find Reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 647
Threads: 32
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
#4
RE: custom background map

(05-14-2012, 08:18 AM)beecake Wrote: No, still black Sad

[Image: 2a8hxed.png]
so you physically tested the FC youre trying to make, with this map? if not, do so.

on another note, are you sure youve saved the map on the desktop, and then copied it into your maps folder; just in case? sometimes windows doesnt allow alteration and saving of files in the programfiles folder, so maybe you have an earlier version of the map without a pointlight.

on YET ANOTHER note. add some more detail to that map. not to be offensive or anything, but it looks really plain..

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
(This post was last modified: 05-14-2012, 08:44 AM by Mine Turtle.)
05-14-2012, 08:43 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#5
RE: custom background map

What do you mean with FC?

And i cannot save them on my desktop, because i can't see .map files. I don't know why. I saved it where the other bgmap is saved, but i saved the original bgmap as main_menu_bg.map and then saved my custom map as menu_bg.map

BIG EDIT: Ok seriously sorry i'm stupid!!! I should've just named the PlayerStartArea_1 to CameraPos! Damn me Tongue

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 05-14-2012, 09:04 AM by FlawlessHappiness.)
05-14-2012, 08:54 AM
Find Reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#6
RE: custom background map [SOLVED]

To be able to have a custom background you either have to make a Full conversion or overwrite the existing main_menu thought if you overwrite remember that only you can see that background and no one else

05-14-2012, 11:52 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#7
RE: custom background map [SOLVED]

Of course of course Wink

Trying is the first step to success.
05-14-2012, 11:54 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)