Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Questions about Flashbacks and Script Areas
NoobasaurusR3X Offline

Threads: 1
Question  Questions about Flashbacks and Script Areas

*SOLVED*

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the whole idea of scripting in Amnesia and new to the community as well. Smile Normally when I encounter a problem I search for tutorials, etc in order to try and clear things up however I couldn't seem to find any information on these two topics;

1) How would you add flashbacks into a custom story and how would you code it?
2) How would you disable the player's "hand icon" that appears on script areas? I want the player to be able to walk through the script areas but not be able to click on them with the "hand icon" that appears in-game.

Any Help would be appreciated Big Grin

*SOLVED*
(This post was last modified: 05-26-2012, 04:18 PM by NoobasaurusR3X.)
05-21-2012, 07:47 PM
Find
FragdaddyXXL Offline

Threads: 20
RE: Questions about Flashbacks and Script Areas

(05-21-2012, 07:47 PM)NoobasaurusR3X Wrote: 2) How would you disable the player's "hand icon" that appears on script areas? I want the player to be able to walk through the script areas but not be able to click on them with the "hand icon" that appears in-game.
What kind of Areas are you using? Are you sure you are using the Area of type: Script? And not some other area's by mistake?

As for the flashbacks, it depends on what you mean. If you want to emulate the kinds used in the main game, where your screen is kinda red, everything is slightly blurry, the flashback takes place in a whole other location, and the player has no control of the character, then you should get familiar with:
*Screen Effects
*TeleportPlayer(string& asStartPosName);
*The Player section of the Engine Scripts Page
*Timers