Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Anmisia just diasappears on laptop ubuntu 12.04 with optimus
iamchrismoran Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 6 Months, 2 Weeks ago Anmisia just diasappears on laptop ubuntu 12.04 with optimus

I have an ASUS N53SM-ES72 running Ubuntu 12.04. This machine has the GeForce GT 630M (with optimus) along side the intel on board. I know it presents special problems for running many games - I cannot get lord of the rings online to work with it at all correctly.
I have installed Bumblebee however and have run Amnesia both with and without. EITHER way it goes through all the set up and intro parts and just as I'm about to start play, the window just goes away, either from full screen or windowed mode.

Without launching it from optirun, here' the output at the command line:
Quote: Pre-Sort
quadro fx
geforce fx
geforce gt
geforce gts
geforce gt2s
geforce gtx
geforce xpress
geforce
mobile intel® series express chipset family
graphics media accelerator
intel® hd graphics
radeon
radeon hd
amd
mesa
Post-Sort
mobile intel® series express chipset family
graphics media accelerator
intel® hd graphics
quadro fx
geforce fx
geforce gt
geforce gts
geforce gt2s
geforce gtx
geforce xpress
radeon hd
geforce
radeon
amd
mesa
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957Sadsnd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server socket
jack server is not running or cannot be started
X_ChangeProperty: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 0x0
chris@Smaug:/usr/games/Amnesia$ ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018Sadsnd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957Sadsnd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server socket
jack server is not running or cannot be started
With optirun:
Quote: chris@Smaug:/usr/games/Amnesia$ optirun ./Launcher.bin
Pre-Sort
quadro fx
geforce fx
geforce gt
geforce gts
geforce gt2s
geforce gtx
geforce xpress
geforce
mobile intel® series express chipset family
graphics media accelerator
intel® hd graphics
radeon
radeon hd
amd
mesa
Post-Sort
mobile intel® series express chipset family
graphics media accelerator
intel® hd graphics
quadro fx
geforce fx
geforce gt
geforce gts
geforce gt2s
geforce gtx
geforce xpress
radeon hd
geforce
radeon
amd
mesa
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
ALSA lib pcm.c:2217Sadsnd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib audio/pcm_bluetooth.c:1614Sadaudioservice_expect) BT_GET_CAPABILITIES failed : Input/output error(5)
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957Sadsnd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server socket
jack server is not running or cannot be started
X_ChangeProperty: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 0x0
chris@Smaug:/usr/games/Amnesia$ XIO: fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server ":8"
after 43 requests (42 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
I'm at a loss.
thanks for any support.
Chris


Attached Files
.log   hpl.log (Size: 9.74 KB / Downloads: 23)
06-14-2012, 01:39 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 6 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Anmisia just diasappears on laptop ubuntu 12.04 with optimus

From looking at the hpl.log it's using the intel chip when starting up and it's failing to create several textures due to missing S3TC support. You need to make sure to enable S3TC in the open source drivers or somehow get it to use the nvidia drivers.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
06-14-2012, 01:45 AM
Website Find
iamchrismoran Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 6 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Anmisia just diasappears on laptop ubuntu 12.04 with optimus

Ooops , the log I posted was from running without optirun. Attached is the one launched with optirun.

Is that more useful?


Attached Files
.log   hpl.log (Size: 1.59 KB / Downloads: 35)
06-14-2012, 01:58 AM
Find
tomtom Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 6 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Anmisia just diasappears on laptop ubuntu 12.04 with optimus

Hi,

I have the same laptop and am experiencing the same bug.
I found no solution until now, but I remember having been able to run Amnesia with a previous version of Bumblebee.
I am definitely looking forward for a fix/workaround !

EDIT: I can launch the game (but not with the launcher) with the following command:
optirun -c yuv Amnesia.bin64

Hope it helps, waiting for a better fix (from BumbleBee IMHO)
(This post was last modified: 09-25-2012, 11:19 AM by tomtom.)
09-25-2012, 10:59 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)