Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Why does my bat file crash when I launch it
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#1
Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

I click it screen blackens for a second then it crashes and says:


"A crash has occured.Please wait while gathering system information."


I dont see anything wrong in the custom main init either:



<ConfigFiles
Resources = "resources.cfg"
Materials = "materials.cfg"

Game = "config/game.cfg"
Menu = "config/menu.cfg"
PreMenu = "config/pre_menu.cfg"
Demo = "config/demo.cfg"

DefaultMainSettings = "config/default_main_settings.cfg"

DefaultMainSettingsLow = "launcher/default_main_settings_low.cfg"
DefaultMainSettingsMedium = "launcher/default_main_settings_medium.cfg"
DefaultMainSettingsHigh = "launcher/default_main_settings_high.cfg"


DefaultUserSettings = "config/default_user_settings.cfg"
DefaultUserKeys = "config/default_user_keys.cfg"

DefaultBaseLanguage = "base_english.lang"
DefaultGameLanguage = "english.lang"
/>

<Directories
MainSaveFolder = "Main"

BaseLanguageFolder = "config/"
GameLanguageFolder = "config/rise_ashes_lang/"

CustomStoryPath = "custom_stories"
/>

<Variables
GameName = "Amnesia - The Dark Descent -"
/>

<StartMap
File = "rfa.map"
Folder = "maps/rise_ashes/"
Pos = "bedstart"
/>

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-16-2012, 05:16 PM
Website Find Reply
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#2
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

Um...anyone?

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-17-2012, 02:07 PM
Website Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#3
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

If there was anything wrong with the configuration or if the file path to the configuration was wrong, the game would tell you that it couldn't load the configuration. It is possible that the main menu map has something wrong with it, or that you set up your (default_)main_settings.cfg in a way that makes the game crash, or something "random."

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
(This post was last modified: 07-17-2012, 02:17 PM by Your Computer.)
07-17-2012, 02:16 PM
Website Find Reply
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#4
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

Well I dont have custom main menu yet.


But heres the default main settings i have



<Main ShowMenu="True" ExitMenuDirectly="true" SaveConfig="true" DefaultProfileName="dev_user" UpdateLogActive="false" LoadDebugMenu="false" StartLanguage="english.lang" ScreenShotExt="jpg" ForceCacheLoadingAndSkipSaving="true" ShowPreMenu="True" />
<Graphics TextureQuality="0" TextureFilter="2" TextureAnisotropy="1.000000" Gamma="1.000000" Shadows="1" SSAOActive="true" SSAOSamples="8" ShadowQuality="1" ShadowResolution="2" SSAOResolution="0" ParallaxEnabled="true" WorldReflection="true" EdgeSmooth="false" GBufferType="0" NumOfGBufferTextures="3" OcclusionTestLights="true" Refraction="true" ShadowsActive="true" ParallaxQuality="0" ForceShaderModel3And4Off="false" PostEffectBloom="true" PostEffectImageTrail="true" PostEffectSepia="true" PostEffectRadialBlur="true" PostEffectInsanity="true" />
<Engine LimitFPS="true" SleepWhenOutOfFocus="true" />
<Screen Width="1024" Height="768" FullScreen="true" Vsync="false" />
<Physics PhysicsAccuracy="2" UpdatesPerSec="60.000000" />
<Sound Device="0" Volume="1.000000" MaxChannels="32" StreamBuffers="4" StreamBufferSize="262144" />
<MapLoad FastPhysicsLoad="false" FastStaticLoad="false" FastEntityLoad="false" />

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-17-2012, 02:53 PM
Website Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#5
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

What's the contents of the BAT file?

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
07-17-2012, 03:02 PM
Website Find Reply
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#6
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

Amnesia.exe config/rise_ashes_main_init.cfg

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-17-2012, 03:03 PM
Website Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#7
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

You have a special case, then.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
07-17-2012, 06:17 PM
Website Find Reply
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#8
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

So...what can I do?

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-17-2012, 09:43 PM
Website Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#9
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

Not sure. Maybe the hpl.log can provide insight on the issue.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
07-18-2012, 12:22 AM
Website Find Reply
kartanonperuna Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 755
Threads: 44
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
#10
RE: Why does my bat file crash when I launch it

Whats that again?Sorry cant remember the stuff.Where can i see the hpl.log?

Voice actor

Painful shadows



07-18-2012, 12:36 AM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)