Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Motion blur
Ludvearty Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Motion blur

Hello,

I would like to know if it is possible to code Motion Blur for Amnesia. I think it is not possible to add MB effects to a given map using the basic engine script functions. I noticed it was implemented in Penumbra and read the PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg code (located in redist\core\programs\ folder).
Do you think it would be a good idea to customize my Amnesia source files in order to develop an appropriate related script function ?

Best regards,

Ludvearty
07-22-2012, 09:51 PM
Find Reply
Danny Boy Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,718
Threads: 85
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 81
#2
RE: Motion blur

nope. you can not.
07-22-2012, 10:21 PM
Website Find Reply
Ludvearty Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Motion blur

Ok but can you explain why please ^^'

Thank you for the fast answer !
07-22-2012, 11:58 PM
Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#4
RE: Motion blur

The engine is not open source, you can't add new code to the game iself as far as I know.

As I do not know jack shit about the whole scripting/programing thing though you are most welcome to consider this reply complete bullshit.
07-23-2012, 12:12 AM
Find Reply
Ludvearty Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Motion blur

I understand that but is there any way to achieve this result ??
I know i can change specific files (like for the radial blur, etc) that are linked to that kind of effect... Maybe there is a way to change or create a new that could be called for the entire game...?

Thanks a lot !
07-23-2012, 12:25 AM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#6
RE: Motion blur

What's wrong with FadeImageTrailTo?

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
07-23-2012, 12:25 AM
Website Find Reply
Ludvearty Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Motion blur

I was searching this function.. thanks ^^
However it's not the effect I'm looking for, unfortunetly :/

This effect's (wich is a simple sanity effect) is like a "retard" blur, witch only printscreen the layer and let this shot keep appearing (the result is kinda gross I think). I'm looking for a way to change a lil bit the corresponding file to get closer to the Penumbra's motion blur effect.

This file is in the \redist\core\shaders\posteffect_image_trail_frag.glsl file (I think)

Thank you to take a look !

Ludvearty
07-23-2012, 12:38 PM
Find Reply
Ludvearty Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Motion blur

Hi there

I maybe have a solution, which is simply to create a .glsl file for the effect.
I just need to know how those files are used by the hp script and the engine.

For example, posteffect_radial_blur_frag.glsl lets appear some variables that are used as arguments when we call the function FadeRadialBlurTo(..,..).

Any ideas ? Thanks !

Ludvearty
07-26-2012, 01:40 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)