Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Making a monster to run
Storfigge Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 31
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Making a monster to run

Hey!

I've made a room with a script which work in the way that when you stand in it a monster hallucination appears a few meters behind you. I've put out pathnodes and it works kind of how I want it to work. The only thing is, how do i make the monster run towards me? It walks pretty slowly and I think that making it run would be a bit scarier.

10-16-2012, 03:26 PM
Find Reply
Lizard Offline
Member

Posts: 174
Threads: 23
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 5
#2
RE: Making a monster to run

(10-16-2012, 03:26 PM)Storfigge Wrote: Hey!

I've made a room with a script which work in the way that when you stand in it a monster hallucination appears a few meters behind you. I've put out pathnodes and it works kind of how I want it to work. The only thing is, how do i make the monster run towards me? It walks pretty slowly and I think that making it run would be a bit scarier.
just put this in your function

ShowEnemyPlayerPosition("name of the monster");

It will make the monster run straight towards the player

CURRENT PROJECT:
A Fathers Secret == Just started
(This post was last modified: 10-16-2012, 04:21 PM by Lizard.)
10-16-2012, 04:21 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#3
RE: Making a monster to run

Can i ask a question in your thread? Since your've gotten the answer...

How do i make the monster run, without him seeing me?
Can i choose it in the: AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation); ?


Will setting the animation to run, make him move faster?

Trying is the first step to success.
10-16-2012, 05:28 PM
Find Reply
Robby Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,549
Threads: 38
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 47
#4
RE: Making a monster to run

(10-16-2012, 05:28 PM)beecake Wrote: Can i ask a question in your thread? Since your've gotten the answer...

How do i make the monster run, without him seeing me?
Can i choose it in the: AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation); ?


Will setting the animation to run, make him move faster?
No, that won't work. By using pathnodes, he'll patrol along them, in a walking state.

You can modify the variables of the entity (the walk speed and set it to the run speed's number), save the modified entity, then when you create the grunt (or brute), then just select the modified ent file that you created.

This is what I did long ago, and it worked for me.

Infrequently active. Don't expect an immediate response. Best to contact me at a different locale. If I create a thread, expect me to be quite active.
10-16-2012, 05:44 PM
Website Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#5
RE: Making a monster to run

Ok.. so i cannot make him stop "running" again...

Trying is the first step to success.
10-16-2012, 06:18 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)