Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help Make grunt permanent ?
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,129
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
#1
Make grunt permanent ?

hello, i'm new here.
i have this grunt monster patrolling on a cell and he sometimes disappear when player goes away.
is there a way to stop this? like a function SetEnemyPermanent ?
thank u all

12-07-2012, 06:21 PM
Find Reply
ApeCake Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 20
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 4
#2
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

Nope.

You'll have to use your imagination for this. One way is to have a script area right before each patrolpoint, which adds another AddEnemyPatrolNode. This way he gets looped and won't disappear. It's a bit of a slap to the balls but it's pretty much the only way I know of.

Because he won't disappear if he still has code active.
12-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#3
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWPU6frXm...8&index=19

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
12-07-2012, 08:41 PM
Website Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#4
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

You could try opening him in the Model Editor, going to Edit > User Defined Settings and raising the Activation Distance. Save him as a new .ent in your custom story folder and load him up in your level editor.
12-07-2012, 08:41 PM
Find Reply
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#5
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWPU6frXm...8&index=19

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
12-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Find Reply
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,129
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
#6
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

thank u guys, great answers. but i already tried all that, look this image

[Image: o9ihcj.jpg]

on that marked node the grunt disappears about %80 of times he patrolls there. as if darkness ate him.
those 2 areas trigger the same function that reminds the grunt his 2 nodes, so he can patrol forever.


[Image: s49thh.jpg]
"say" is just a short function i did that shows a debug message.
when uncommented it shows it's working ok.
but suddenly it stops. when i check inside the cell, the grunt is gone.

if the player can see him, it never disappears. but i can't force the player to stay close just for that. T_T

(12-07-2012, 08:41 PM)Statyk Wrote: You could try opening him in the Model Editor, going to Edit > User Defined Settings and raising the Activation Distance. Save him as a new .ent in your custom story folder and load him up in your level editor.
i'm gonna have to do that. ty

(This post was last modified: 12-07-2012, 10:41 PM by Daemian.)
12-07-2012, 10:40 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#7
RE: Make grunt permanent ?

Offtopic:

I really like the picture. I'd like to see the final cs Big Grin

Trying is the first step to success.
12-07-2012, 11:36 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)