Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

What are your thoughts on Black Plague?
Pigov Offline

Threads: 6
RE: What are your thoughts on Black Plague?

Penumbra Wrote:I didn't like how instead of my goal being to learn more about my dad, my goal became to make a cure.

Oh yeah definately. First game's goal is all about finding Howard, and in BP, you just find him and that's it, not much more about him. It just went too quick.
03-21-2008, 12:08 AM
Find
pikacz
Unregistered

well i started playing today and so far it's as good as overture Smile i don't think i'll write a walkthrough again due to lack of time, but maybe, who knows Tongue
greets to all
03-29-2008, 03:16 PM
DanteDMC Offline

Threads: 3

Pigov Wrote:My thoughts? It was an okay game. While Overture raised questions, Black Plague only strives to answer them.

Overall, I'd say Overture is a 9/10 game, and BP a 6/10. I loved the eerie silence of Overture, which was all the time broken by Clarence in BP. Also, the puzzles in Overture were just amazing (the radio, Lake Uqutaq), and BP? I didn't like a single one of BP's puzzles, sorry.

The infected are scary the first few times you encounter them. Then you get used to them, which drops the whole immersiveness. Having only three types of enemies was bad enough in Overture, and dropping it to one in BP was a disaster.

In short, for me, it sadly was a disappointment. I am happy that the story made sense and didn't leave us with another cliffhanger.

I'm mostly on the same page. I wish that there were more types of enemies and explanations of how they came to be.

I really did not like how the combat system was taken away. I understand what they were trying to do in terms of making the game scarier by not being able to defend yourself; but to me, it's just annoying not being able to kill your enemy.