Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
~Cinematic Main Menu Mods - Finished: 1
Author Message
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
#21
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUZVkn5a4sytnXCdZ0tDP...drdw6Yq_fv]

amazing, really

01-21-2013, 12:38 AM
Find Reply
No Author Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 962
Threads: 10
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 13
#22
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Did you use scripts on the map or you used something else ?

[Image: the-cabin-in-the-woods-masked-people.jpg]
01-21-2013, 05:59 AM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#23
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

No, I described it in the OP. Its an entire level re-mapped in Maya and attached to an animated bone.

You can't script a menu map =P
~~~

Experiment for tomorrow:
- Render errors could possibly be caused from the shear size of the model (its scale is 1:1 compared to the original level). I'm going to try to detach the bone, shrink it down to half its normal size, and re-work the animation. Hoping to get this fixed D:
(This post was last modified: 01-21-2013, 07:30 AM by Statyk.)
01-21-2013, 07:22 AM
Find Reply
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#24
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

(01-20-2013, 06:05 PM)Statyk Wrote: @Rapture
Fraps slows it down a lot for some reason. When I don't have Fraps running, it gets to about 30fps. With fraps running, it gets to about 15fps... But I'll try changing the animation framerate in Maya and see if that fixes it.

@Chaser
Spoiler below!

[Image: untitle.JPG]


But thank you anyways =P

Yea, Fraps is known to be very bitchy with the CPU.

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
01-21-2013, 01:56 PM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#25
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Well, I made a smoother animation, a bit lengthier, added details I forgot (spiderwebs, level door, and fixed a ceiling texture clipping issue) and the size of the animated area is half the size of the original Entrance Hall.

The render errors aren't as consistent... But they still exist... And it's really bugging me because I had it without render issues ONCE, and had to fix something, and it never happened again. I'm so close to finishing this... I just want it over and done with D|

Lighting: Complete (edited brightness because Fraps likes recording things darker than normal)
[video=youtube]http://youtu.be/VJtqG5DufnA[/video]
(This post was last modified: 01-22-2013, 06:47 AM by Statyk.)
01-22-2013, 06:47 AM
Find Reply
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,176
Threads: 62
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#26
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Statyk with his creations never disappoints! Marvellous work again! Tongue

“Life is a game, play it”
01-22-2013, 07:17 AM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#27
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

It's not marvelous unless it works DX lol But thank you, I appreciate it <3
01-22-2013, 07:26 AM
Find Reply
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,078
Threads: 79
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 30
#28
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Wow that looks great, the brightness is perfect.

In the far-far-far future, would you be willing to animate another map if we hosted a competition for the "best looking cinematic opening"? Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-22-2013, 08:04 AM by Rapture.)
01-22-2013, 08:04 AM
Find Reply
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,176
Threads: 62
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#29
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

(01-22-2013, 07:26 AM)Statyk Wrote: It's not marvelous unless it works DX lol But thank you, I appreciate it <3

You will finish it Smile I know that xD

“Life is a game, play it”
01-22-2013, 09:03 AM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#30
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mods - Finished: 1

FIXED IT, SOLVED IT. Finally... Turns out a joint can only holds 1-4 entities in the model. I had 1 joint in the scene and about.... 40 entities. So I had to add more joints so each joint can hold one entity. It all works now. Check out the OP for a preview and download. Enjoy! =]

I'm taking a little break on these for now. I'll think about adding more cinematics later. |D
(This post was last modified: 01-24-2013, 06:22 PM by Statyk.)
01-24-2013, 06:21 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)