Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Please Read !
ryan1431 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Please Read !

I have a new, more challenging-to-fix problem after getting used to HPL and scripting. In amnesia, when the "goo" is created, it fades in. Whenever i try to get the goo active by using the script "SetEntityActive("(name)", true);", it just appears, instead of fading in Huh . I was wondering if there is a way to fix this. Your answer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2013, 11:29 PM by ryan1431.)
01-05-2013, 11:28 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#2
RE: Please Read !

void SetPropActiveAndFade(string& asName, bool abActive, float afFadeTime);
Activates/deactivates a prop.
asName - internal name
abActive - nothing to add
afFadeTime - time in seconds until prop fully fades

Trying is the first step to success.
01-06-2013, 01:29 AM
Find
stokesie95 Offline
Member

Posts: 87
Threads: 29
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 4
#3
RE: Please Read !

you need to use
"SetPropActiveAndFade"

this will make it fade in and out instead of just appearing

if you need to find some code you dont know you can check the ones use in the game

Looking for scripting work
(This post was last modified: 01-06-2013, 01:40 AM by stokesie95.)
01-06-2013, 01:39 AM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#4
RE: Please Read !

(01-06-2013, 01:39 AM)stokesie95 Wrote: if you need to find some code you dont know you can check the ones use in the game

Or search this website: http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amn..._functions

Trying is the first step to success.
01-06-2013, 01:50 AM
Find
ryan1431 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Please Read !

(01-06-2013, 01:29 AM)beecake Wrote: void SetPropActiveAndFade(string& asName, bool abActive, float afFadeTime);
Activates/deactivates a prop.
asName - internal name
abActive - nothing to add
afFadeTime - time in seconds until prop fully fades

okay thanks very muchSmile, but how do i position this code so that it will know which entity i want to set active?
(This post was last modified: 01-06-2013, 09:14 PM by ryan1431.)
01-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Find
str4wberrypanic Offline
Member

Posts: 241
Threads: 24
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 8
#6
RE: Please Read !

SetPropActiveAndFade("GOO_NAME_IN_EDITOR", true, TIME_IN_SECONDS_UNTIL_IT_FADES);


Now if you want it to desappear, change the true for false.

01-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#7
RE: Please Read !

asName = The entitiy (In most situations)

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 01-06-2013, 09:21 PM by FlawlessHappiness.)
01-06-2013, 09:21 PM
Find
ryan1431 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Please Read !

(01-06-2013, 09:21 PM)beecake Wrote: asName = The entitiy (In most situations)

alright thank you very much Big Grin

(01-06-2013, 09:19 PM)str4wberrypanic Wrote: SetPropActiveAndFade("GOO_NAME_IN_EDITOR", true, TIME_IN_SECONDS_UNTIL_IT_FADES);


Now if you want it to desappear, change the true for false.

thanks very much Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-06-2013, 09:27 PM by ryan1431.)
01-06-2013, 09:27 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)