Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Why so laggy?
Edawg649 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago Why so laggy?

I have a Dell Dimension E510 Desktop Computer with an ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series graphics chip, updated to OpenGL 2.1.8545. I run Amnesia under all the lowest possible graphics settings. The loading screen goes smoothly. In fact, everything is smooth up until gameplay. Gameplay is so laggy. I have tried defragging, uninstalling large programs, virus scans, and closing background programs. The gameplay runs at 8.5fps. Any other ideas?
(This post was last modified: 03-07-2013, 10:36 PM by Edawg649.)
03-07-2013, 10:35 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

Your graphics card is just too weak for the game, unfortunately you have already done everything you can. If the game is from steam try a file integrity check in case there are corrupted files causing the lag but I'm certain that this is due to the old graphics card.
03-07-2013, 11:41 PM
Find
Edawg649 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

Dang. I'm so desperate to play this game I'd be willing to do it on my laptop, but it's got the Intel Series 4 Chipset Family, which doesn't run the game. Well, thanks anyway.
03-08-2013, 12:11 AM
Find
3dge Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 1
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

(03-07-2013, 11:41 PM)plutomaniac Wrote: Your graphics card is just too weak for the game, unfortunately you have already done everything you can. If the game is from steam try a file integrity check in case there are corrupted files causing the lag but I'm certain that this is due to the old graphics card.
As he said, your "graphics card" is just too weak, a integrated graphics card like your isn't really made to handle games. If you want to buy a computer check if it actually has a dedicated GPU, a chipset family is just a graphics card that is basically a part of your motherboard, often used in laptops to preserve space. Sorry for the problems you are having, this is truly a game everybody should get to enjoy!

I don't got any answers. I wanna be with Marlene... But I gotta fight. 'Cause if I don't, the planet's gonna die... So I'm gonna keep fightin'!

- Barret
(This post was last modified: 03-08-2013, 06:12 AM by 3dge.)
03-08-2013, 06:11 AM
Website Find
7heDubz Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,329
Threads: 40
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 41
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

Haha, ok my turn to ask a question.


What about an ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics card?

03-08-2013, 09:40 AM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

could not find opengl info with a quick search. If it supports OpenGL 2.1 then yes but since it is a chipset integrated solution there might be lagginesh too.
03-08-2013, 01:41 PM
Find
7heDubz Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,329
Threads: 40
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 41
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Why so laggy?

(03-08-2013, 01:41 PM)plutomaniac Wrote: could not find opengl info with a quick search. If it supports OpenGL 2.1 then yes but since it is a chipset integrated solution there might be lagginesh too.

Try turning down te resolution as well. i have a 1600x900 computer but when i run it 800x600 (i think) it runs better.

03-13-2013, 01:24 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)