Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Music: How To Get It Right?
ingedoom Offline

Threads: 12
Music: How To Get It Right?

Hi.
I'm not a professional musician nor composer, so don't judge me too harshly if you expect that kind of standard. I've studied, played and composed music for 4-5 years now, so i do know one or two things about the subject. Enjoy.

I'm sure we can all agree that music is a media of emotional and artistic expression and story telling, but it can also be used for such things as pure entertainment (pop) or manipulation of social behavior (muzak, which you hear in malls). Furthermore it is also often used to emphazise a certain feeling(dramatic movie music) or inspire a certain mood (ambient music). Yet some artists mainly focus on how they can extent the opportunities of sound (today dubstep, what will be next?) and create whole new genres with new and unknown sounds. Finally some pieces are just made for the sake of brag,(virtuosity) for the musician to show of his skills with an instrument ...
A true masterpiece has what it needs, nothing more, but it can have these different sort of purposes.

Quote:“A painter paints his pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence. We provide the music, and you provide the silence.”
- Leopold Stakowski

Before you begin composing a piece of music, you have to make a clear set of ideas to follow. Start by asking yourself questions like:
  • What is the theme?
  • Which context is it meant for?
  • What is the purpose of this music?
When you have these questions answered, you are able to make all the important decisions which are required in your creative process. Obviously knowlegde about music theory and agents is also quite essential, like; rythm, harmony, dynamics and form etc etc.