Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Entity won't go inactive
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Entity won't go inactive

I've unchecked the box "active" and even set it inactive with SetEntityActive but it still won't go inactive. I tried to create a ragdoll Suitor following this guide but i couldn't do the last part (adding bodies etc) because I couldn't shrink it and it was so big in model editor. Anyways I got it as an entity in game but I couldn't set it inactive. anyone got any ideas?
04-02-2013, 05:39 PM
Find Reply
OriginalUsername Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 896
Threads: 42
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 34
#2
RE: Entity won't go inactive

I've had the same problem with a statue. I'm not sure how to fix it, I just used another one.
04-02-2013, 05:47 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#3
RE: Entity won't go inactive

Change their type in the model editor.

Right now they are static_object or something like that...

Change their type to "Object" and SubType to "Static"

Trying is the first step to success.
04-02-2013, 06:55 PM
Find Reply
Akos115 Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 14
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: Entity won't go inactive

If you have a map_cache file then delete it.
The statue is an entity btw.

04-02-2013, 08:08 PM
Find Reply
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Entity won't go inactive

(04-02-2013, 06:55 PM)BeeKayK Wrote: Change their type in the model editor.

Right now they are static_object or something like that...

Change their type to "Object" and SubType to "Static"

It's an entity because when I open it in level editor I have the option menu called Entity not Static_Object
04-02-2013, 08:50 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#6
RE: Entity won't go inactive

(04-02-2013, 08:50 PM)LulleBulle Wrote:
(04-02-2013, 06:55 PM)BeeKayK Wrote: Change their type in the model editor.

Right now they are static_object or something like that...

Change their type to "Object" and SubType to "Static"

It's an entity because when I open it in level editor I have the option menu called Entity not Static_Object

Not exactly.

Yes, it might be in the entity folder and come with a .ent file, but in that file it says that it's a "Static_prop" (I think it's called that)

You can check it yourself by opening the entity in the model editor, and look at the User Defined Variables. You should be able to choose what you want it to be there.

Now what you want to do to make it work in your cs is:
-Create a folder in your Cs called "Entities"
-Copy the folder of the entity that you want, modified.
-Now find the folder in the model editor, open the .ent file, and edit what you want.
-Be sure that you've saved the file.
-You're done! Smile

Trying is the first step to success.
04-02-2013, 09:26 PM
Find Reply
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,713
Threads: 75
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
#7
RE: Entity won't go inactive

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thr...#pid213566

Don't change the sub-type, though.

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
04-03-2013, 06:47 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#8
RE: Entity won't go inactive

(04-03-2013, 06:47 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thr...#pid213566

Don't change the sub-type, though.

It's exactly this... But yea, as he said: Instead of making the sub-type "Grab", make it "Static" instead

Trying is the first step to success.
04-03-2013, 06:56 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)