Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


strange glitch renders game unplayable
jbartee Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago strange glitch renders game unplayable

So I've been playing through black plague on my macbook pro 2.4 gig with a GeForce 8600M GT graphics card. So far the game has been pretty much flawless except for some occasional random crashes (which can be fixed with a reboot).

Now I'm in the research room and am encountering a massive drop in framerate (less than 1 fps). The sound still works and I can sort of move around, but only when I enter the research room fresh from an earlier save game. If I try to load the save in the research room, my entire system crashes and I have to do a hard reboot.

This is a major bummer. Help?

Jordan.
06-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Find
jbartee Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

nobody can help me?
06-17-2008, 06:47 PM
Find
ikir Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

Sorry i play with my MacPro and 880GT, and i played only some parts on my MacBook Pro 8600GT wth no problems.


Dumb question: have you update your OS and Penumbra too?

I play on my lovely Leopard 10.5.4 and i've downloaded lastets Penumbra patch.
10-12-2008, 06:50 PM
Find
Tasaraki Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

I'm having the same problem on my Gaming pv.
Game palys fine untill i hit the RL, and bam frame rate frops and game turns into a slide show.

2-3 gigs of ram ,two Nvidia 8600's, drives are up to date.
Windows Visita (i know I know).
03-12-2009, 05:59 AM
Find
Tommy Gun Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 504
Threads: 26
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

You know, i had similar problem, i still do, if you have a laptop, constantly keep it hooked up to the power point.

secondly, wheni used vista with penumbra, its like giving a 2 year old a shotgun. I change to xp, and it like a commando grabbed it.

another point, where did you download it from (gamersgate direct2drive?), and have you put on any patches?

Thridly, Go to your options and check what effects have affects on the frame rate. eg motion blur, triliner etc. change them to you liking.

Hope this helps.

Not an image
(This post was last modified: 03-12-2009, 07:34 AM by ARes88.)
03-12-2009, 07:28 AM
Find
irskep Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

I am having the same problem. Latest version (1.0.2something), Macbook Pro from 2007. Latest OS, repaired permissions, the works.

It looks like this was still an issue 6 months ago. I guess Frictional doesn't feel like looking at it.

Here is my save file: http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/360865/Resear....13_57.sav

And my log: http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/360865/hpl.log
04-05-2009, 10:28 PM
Find
hiroru Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 4 Years, 4 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: strange glitch renders game unplayable

Hi,

Maybe you can try to save your saved game then remove game with all config files (you can use appcleaner app from FreeMacSoft), then reinstall it and copy saved game inside directory.

I used this to solve some problems.
07-21-2009, 03:14 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)