Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements
Geoff Offline
Member

Posts: 80
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
#91
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Alright, so using the site systemrequirementslab, I get this:

CPUMinimum: 2.0 GHz core i5 CPU or equivalentYou Have: AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+

So, would I be able to run it? This is all for minimum because the site tells me I can't run the game. I'd say I probably can...
08-19-2013, 12:22 AM
Find Reply
RaideX Offline
Member

Posts: 212
Threads: 33
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 7
#92
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Now that everyone posts their computer specs, i thought, just to be sure, i let u guys check mine out. So:

OS: Windows 7
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6450
Processor: Intel Core i5 - 2300 CPU at 2.8 Ghz (4 CPUs)
RAM: 4 GB

Sorry for the circumstances, just curious. Thanks in advance!

If you don't draw first, you don't get to draw at all... -The False Shepherd
08-19-2013, 01:12 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#93
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 12:22 AM)Geoff Wrote: Alright, so using the site systemrequirementslab, I get this:

CPUMinimum: 2.0 GHz core i5 CPU or equivalentYou Have: AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+

So, would I be able to run it? This is all for minimum because the site tells me I can't run the game. I'd say I probably can...

Don't use this site, it gives false hope when being at minimum or close. Especially when it comes to Pigs where their minimum sys req are elevated this site is not accurate.

Your dual core CPU is below the minimum requirement but (that being quite high) you should not have any problems running the game.

(08-19-2013, 01:12 AM)RaideX Wrote: Now that everyone posts their computer specs, i thought, just to be sure, i let u guys check mine out. So:

OS: Windows 7
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6450
Processor: Intel Core i5 - 2300 CPU at 2.8 Ghz (4 CPUs)
RAM: 4 GB

Sorry for the circumstances, just curious. Thanks in advance!

Your graphics card is the lowest-end (entry-level) of the 6xx0 series of cards. It does support OpenGL 4.1 and the game will be playable at lower settings.
08-19-2013, 09:48 AM
Find Reply
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#94
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 12:11 AM)plutomaniac Wrote:
(08-17-2013, 09:06 AM)jens Wrote: Alright, fixed so it is not "weird". These are the requierments, of course the game will run on worse computers than this, but we don't want to give the wrong impression and have unhappy customers.

[...]

(08-17-2013, 10:44 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: HA-HA-HA, most probably one of the APUs like A6 or A8. Give me some time and I'll let you know.

Minimum Requirements
Windows Vista, OS X 10.6.8, Major Linux Distribution from 2010.
Mid-range NVIDIA GeForce 2x0 / AMD Radeon HD 5xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i5/AMD A10 CPU or equivalent.
2 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.

Recommended Requirements
Windows 7, OS X 10.7.5, Major Linux Distribution from 2012.
High-range NVIDIA GeForce 5x0 / AMD Radeon HD 6xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i7/AMD FX-38xx CPU or equivalent.
4 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.

Added AMD cpu requirements based on intel ones. Changes in bold.

NOTICE: Not final, my recommendations. Jens has to approve first.

Checked and it seemed to be OK, I put AMD FX without specifying the model, as the whole FX series is very high performance models while the i7 have a wide range of performance models. And yeah... fixed my brain freeze with ATI..
08-19-2013, 09:50 AM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#95
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Ah, details, details! Big Grin Yes, the FX line is powerful enough. I did it like that because technically there are worse FX cpus than the A10 I wrote above but ok, it's more than fine.

Quote:Minimum Requirements
Windows Vista, OS X 10.6.8, Major Linux Distribution from 2010.
Mid-range NVIDIA GeForce 2x0 / AMD Radeon HD 5xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i5/AMD A10 CPU or equivalent.
2 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.

Recommended Requirements
Windows 7, OS X 10.7.5, Major Linux Distribution from 2012.
High-range NVIDIA GeForce 5x0 / AMD Radeon HD 6xx0. Integrated Intel HD Graphics should work but is not supported; problems are generally solved with a driver update.
Intel Core i7/AMD FX CPU or equivalent.
4 GB RAM.
5 GB Free hard disk space.
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 10:01 AM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 10:00 AM
Find Reply
Ossie Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 398
Threads: 8
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 17
#96
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Most interesting, thanks.

It'll be interesting to see how my AMD Phenom II X2 560 / ATI Sapphire HD 7850 combo holds up. I'm sure the 7850 will handle the graphics just fine but the Phenom II might be borderline on the number-crunching ..... ?
08-19-2013, 10:21 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#97
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

No it won't be borderline but in general know that your graphics card is bottlenecked by your CPU.
08-19-2013, 10:25 AM
Find Reply
Ossie Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 398
Threads: 8
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 17
#98
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

Thanks, good point.
08-19-2013, 10:41 AM
Find Reply
Vonicon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Threads: 0
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
#99
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

AMD FX 8350 with GeForce GTX 770 should do it, right?

I know I'm a little bit paranoid, but because of the temp-throttling of the CPU I'm always not sure...
08-19-2013, 11:07 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 11:07 AM)Vonicon Wrote: AMD FX 8350 with GeForce GTX 770 should do it, right?

I know I'm a little bit paranoid, but because of the temp-throttling of the CPU I'm always not sure...

Maximum details at normal conditions.

You should check the temp-throttling issue though. Don't ignore it.
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 11:37 AM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 11:30 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)