Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements
terzi Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 10:09 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: 520 is the entry level card of the 500 series so I wouldn't expect that much. The choise is yours. Max resolution and lower details or higher details with decreased resolution.

What comes to my laptop I guess it'll be this choice..
08-20-2013, 05:52 PM
Find Reply
Kreekakon Offline
Pick a god and pray!

Posts: 3,063
Threads: 70
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 124
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 05:52 PM)terzi Wrote:
(08-20-2013, 10:09 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: 520 is the entry level card of the 500 series so I wouldn't expect that much. The choise is yours. Max resolution and lower details or higher details with decreased resolution.

What comes to my laptop I guess it'll be this choice..

In the end it's still your choice, but if it were up to me I'd go with the other choice, which is higher resolution with lower detail.

Reason being that once you're properly immersed into a game you most likely won't notice too many detail issues unless you set them very low. However with lower resolution, you can very easily produce jagged edges which imo are much more noticeable, and will be more likely to disrupt your gaming experience than a few subtle lower details.

Just my opinion. Still up to you.

[Image: Tv0YgQb.gif]
Image by BandyGrass
(This post was last modified: 08-20-2013, 05:56 PM by Kreekakon.)
08-20-2013, 05:56 PM
Find Reply
Tamoghna mukherjee Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 05:56 PM)Kreekakon Wrote:
(08-20-2013, 05:52 PM)terzi Wrote:
(08-20-2013, 10:09 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: 520 is the entry level card of the 500 series so I wouldn't expect that much. The choise is yours. Max resolution and lower details or higher details with decreased resolution.

What comes to my laptop I guess it'll be this choice..

In the end it's still your choice, but if it were up to me I'd go with the other choice, which is higher resolution with lower detail.

Reason being that once you're properly immersed into a game you most likely won't notice too many detail issues unless you set them very low. However with lower resolution, you can very easily produce jagged edges which imo are much more noticeable, and will be more likely to disrupt your gaming experience than a few subtle lower details.

Just my opinion. Still up to you.
thak you for the opinion.Blush
08-20-2013, 06:08 PM
Find Reply
terzi Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 05:56 PM)Kreekakon Wrote:
(08-20-2013, 05:52 PM)terzi Wrote:
(08-20-2013, 10:09 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: 520 is the entry level card of the 500 series so I wouldn't expect that much. The choise is yours. Max resolution and lower details or higher details with decreased resolution.

What comes to my laptop I guess it'll be this choice..

In the end it's still your choice, but if it were up to me I'd go with the other choice, which is higher resolution with lower detail.

Reason being that once you're properly immersed into a game you most likely won't notice too many detail issues unless you set them very low. However with lower resolution, you can very easily produce jagged edges which imo are much more noticeable, and will be more likely to disrupt your gaming experience than a few subtle lower details.

Just my opinion. Still up to you.
You really have a point! I still have to consider. I agree it's better in that way Smile And the game-experience is then better of course.
08-20-2013, 08:31 PM
Find Reply
Gilligan's Hell Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 851
Threads: 17
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 36
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

The game will run well on any machine which has a good Graphics card, hell it would even run on the Machine for Pigs!

The International Narcotics Traffic
08-20-2013, 08:37 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 02:22 PM)WIWWM Wrote: i feel like im gonna be lagging terribly 0.0
Intel ® HD Graphics card
and a four core I3 processor...

If it's 1st gen Intel HD it should work with the latest drivers and everything set to low. Amnesia could run this way without lag. I don't have ay experience with the pigs yet though so I can't tell for sure.

Btw, i3 is dual core with hyper threading (2 cores/ 4 threads).

(08-20-2013, 04:08 PM)Yodake Wrote: @plutomaniac:

Hi,
is it possible that my notebook (2009) can run Aamfp with good fps? (30+) Blush :

Windows 7x64
Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
4096MB RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570

Thanks.

The graphics card supports OpenGL 3.2 so with the latest AMD drivers it should run at low settings. Everything else is fine.

(08-20-2013, 05:56 PM)Kreekakon Wrote: In the end it's still your choice, but if it were up to me I'd go with the other choice, which is higher resolution with lower detail.

Reason being that once you're properly immersed into a game you most likely won't notice too many detail issues unless you set them very low. However with lower resolution, you can very easily produce jagged edges which imo are much more noticeable, and will be more likely to disrupt your gaming experience than a few subtle lower details.

Just my opinion. Still up to you.

Exactly my opinion as well. There is nothing more annoying than the staircase effect on games...
(This post was last modified: 08-20-2013, 10:32 PM by plutomaniac.)
08-20-2013, 10:28 PM
Find Reply
CaRnALDeCAy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

Hi,

Here are my specs:


Software OS X 10.8.4 (12E55)



Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7



Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3


Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB

Will I be able to run AAMFP well? I'm able to run "The Dark Descent" on the high setting.
Thanks.
(This post was last modified: 08-20-2013, 11:35 PM by CaRnALDeCAy.)
08-20-2013, 11:34 PM
Find Reply
Sakonosolo Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

I suppose this might be a good place to talk about various performance things. I'm replaying the first game and notice that it uses "edge smoothing" instead of msaa or another normal form of aa. Is it some kind of post processing? One of the devs described it as "fake fsaa". Is AMfP using the same form? I found that forcing fxaa in the Nvidia control panel got rid of more aliasing than the edge smoothing in the game.

Also some of the animations seem rather unsmooth. Like they're stuttering. Taking out the lantern seems to have this issue sometimes. Hope that has been fixed.

Another thing that I noticed is that the game sometimes drops to 30 fps and stays there for a few seconds. Notably when exiting a note that you're reading. Not sure if this is from lack of triple buffering (I've actually tried forcing it before and it made the game run horribly) or what.
08-20-2013, 11:48 PM
Find Reply
rky Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

Cool, I like the more intensive requirements. I want this game to look and play beautifully.
08-21-2013, 10:18 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about AAMFP System Requirements

(08-20-2013, 11:34 PM)CaRnALDeCAy Wrote: Hi,

Here are my specs:

Software OS X 10.8.4 (12E55)
Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB

Will I be able to run AAMFP well? I'm able to run "The Dark Descent" on the high setting.
Thanks.

You shouldn't have any problems whatsoever. If Amnesia run on High then I suspect the Pigs will run just fine at Medium.
08-21-2013, 11:50 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)