Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Amnesia: MFP - No sound
jan1024188 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#11
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

Any ideas?
09-11-2013, 02:35 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#12
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

I'm looking into it.. One slight difference between TDD and Pigs is that I opted to NOT include my own libopenal.so in the game this time around.. So Pigs will only be using the system openal-soft (which is now standard on every distribution). As one thing I noted was that TDD has more devices in it than Pigs..

I'll have to sift through the code and check if anything changed in the handling of devices..

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-11-2013, 03:21 PM
Website Find
jan1024188 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#13
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

Thanks Urkle, I appreciate the effort.
09-11-2013, 08:15 PM
Find
jan1024188 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#14
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

Hi,

I'm happy to announce that I've got the sound to work, by disabling other devices and making DAC ALSA's only option, so when selecting 'ALSA Default device' in Game Launcher it uses that and it just works.
(This post was last modified: 09-12-2013, 04:30 PM by jan1024188.)
09-12-2013, 04:30 PM
Find
Bucic Offline
Member

Posts: 145
Threads: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 3
#15
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

(09-11-2013, 03:21 PM)Urkle Wrote: I'm looking into it.. One slight difference between TDD and Pigs is that I opted to NOT include my own libopenal.so in the game this time around.. So Pigs will only be using the system openal-soft (which is now standard on every distribution). As one thing I noted was that TDD has more devices in it than Pigs..

I'll have to sift through the code and check if anything changed in the handling of devices..
I have problems with enabling OpenAL HRTF filters for AAMFP http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-24291.html and I've just stumbled upon your post. You say the game should use openal shiping with the system, but when I querry the process (Amnesia, Steam version) I get:
# cat /proc/2174/maps | grep -i openal
f7709000-f7741000 r-xp 00000000 08:03 559224                             /home/xxxx/.local/share/Steam/SteamApps/common/Machine for Pigs/lib/libopenal.so.1
f7741000-f7743000 rw-p 00037000 08:03 559224                             /home/xxxx/.local/share/Steam/SteamApps/common/Machine for Pigs/lib/libopenal.so.1
Something's not right.

Grphc mods
[Image: moddb_88x31_v12.png]
01-08-2014, 11:01 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#16
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

That was changed later to include it as there were too many issues not including it.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
01-08-2014, 11:03 PM
Website Find
Bucic Offline
Member

Posts: 145
Threads: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 3
#17
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Amnesia: MFP - No sound

(01-08-2014, 11:03 PM)Urkle Wrote: That was changed later to include it as there were too many issues not including it.
Could you please clarify whether these libs are "HRTF-enabled"? I'd rather avoid troubleshooting it for hours just to learn the libs shiping with AAMFP are the culprit.

Grphc mods
[Image: moddb_88x31_v12.png]
(This post was last modified: 01-08-2014, 11:30 PM by Bucic.)
01-08-2014, 11:11 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)