Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to Mute Sound While Note Narration is Playing?
mmeowwcat Offline

Threads: 2
How to Mute Sound While Note Narration is Playing?

Hello, this is my first post on this forum, and I am extremely new at scripting. I have figured out the extra_english.lang file fairly well, and I have a couple functions under my belt, (displaying messages, locked doors/keys). Anyways, I was wondering what I would do in my script file if I have music playing (AlPrio priority is 0) and want to mute it momentarily to let the narration of my note play uninterrupted. Thanks to anybody willing to help me out.

Regards,
mmeowwcat
(This post was last modified: 09-14-2013, 07:28 PM by mmeowwcat.)
09-13-2013, 11:02 PM
Find
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 79
RE: How to Mute Sound While Note Narration is Playing?

Would this be what your looking for?

FadeGlobalSoundVolume(float afDestVolume, float afTime);
09-14-2013, 01:14 AM
Find
mmeowwcat Offline

I don't think that's right. I tried putting it in a function that was called when I picked up the note, and sound effects stopped, but the music didn't.
Also, after I put the note down, I could no longer hear doors moving. Thanks for taking time out of your day to try to help me out though.
(This post was last modified: 09-14-2013, 02:53 AM by mmeowwcat.)
09-14-2013, 02:44 AM
Find
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

This will stop the music, but I'm not sure if it will resume where it last played off if you want this.
StopMusic(float afFadeTime, int alPrio);
09-14-2013, 03:11 AM
Find
mmeowwcat Offline

Ok, I managed to get that working from the code you provided, now the only question is, say the player closes the note before the narration(I just slipped a music file in its place) finishes. The sound of the note still plays until it's finished. Would you have any ideas about that? Thanks.