Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.
Googolplex Offline
Banned

Posts: 2,340
Threads: 246
Joined: Oct 2008
#1
Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

Hi,

I know here are some people loving this game. And this is why I wanted to give you a patch I created.

The game is old, and it has some issues to run under modern systems and it doesn't even support high resolutions above 1280x1024 (or sth.).

With my patch you have everything you need in one archive!
It will make the game playable on modern systems, add support for high resolutions above Full-HD with true field-of-view for widescreens. It will also fix the lensflare bug and add support for AA by driver.

Here it is. Just read the "ReadMe.txt" first.
http://www.file-upload.net/download-8181...ch.7z.html

And this is how it looks like:
[Image: cpiyxe6g.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 10-15-2013, 05:22 PM by Googolplex.)
10-15-2013, 04:49 PM
Find
Sakonosolo Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
#2
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

Cool. I might have to try this. I tried playing Silent Hill 1 on the PS1 and thought it was kind of cool but didn't get too far. I doubt there's anything similar for it since PS1 games don't scale too well. Is there any harm in skipping to 2?
10-16-2013, 04:07 AM
Find
Froge Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,956
Threads: 176
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 125
#3
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

(10-16-2013, 04:07 AM)Sakonosolo Wrote: Cool. I might have to try this. I tried playing Silent Hill 1 on the PS1 and thought it was kind of cool but didn't get too far. I doubt there's anything similar for it since PS1 games don't scale too well. Is there any harm in skipping to 2?
No harm at all. SH2 is a completely different story than SH1. Don't skip to 3, though - SH3 is a direct sequel to SH1.

[Image: p229xcq]
10-16-2013, 04:26 AM
Find
Draug Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,110
Threads: 5
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 25
#4
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

My problem is, that I can't find the PC version of SH2... I saw the directors cut on amazon, but 70€ is a little bit too much. I would love to play it !
10-16-2013, 07:45 AM
Find
Googolplex Offline
Banned

Posts: 2,340
Threads: 246
Joined: Oct 2008
#5
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

I bought the game in a second-hand-shop in germany for 20€.
The price is now only 7€, but it's currently not in stock.

I also played SH1 on PC using an emulator, no console needed to play! And this is how it looks like:

[Image: af2pg6ih.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 10-16-2013, 04:31 PM by Googolplex.)
10-16-2013, 04:04 PM
Find
DavidS Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 248
Threads: 4
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 31
#6
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

well, to anyone with a general interest in horror games (and horror as a whole): Silent Hill 2 is more or less mandatory to know as a work of historical value within the industry (and probably pretty influential outside of it to). So, anyone who makes the game accessible for new generations instantly gets my thanks. Smile

Anyone remember the rumor of Hideo Kojima stating that he would like to tackle a remake of SH1 with his Fox Engine? Was half a year/year ago I think.

/////////////////////////////////////
10-16-2013, 07:00 PM
Website Find
fenderspeed Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

Did anyone else try this and it takes away the title screen menu options? I can still click them, but cannot see what I'm clicking. Everything else seems to work fine...
02-19-2014, 09:15 PM
Find
Googolplex Offline
Banned

Posts: 2,340
Threads: 246
Joined: Oct 2008
#8
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

(02-19-2014, 09:15 PM)fenderspeed Wrote: Did anyone else try this and it takes away the title screen menu options? I can still click them, but cannot see what I'm clicking. Everything else seems to work fine...

Can you please take a screenshot and a description of what is wrong exactly?
Note that the patch is only tested on the european PAL version of the Director's Cut.

[Image: 13190.silent-hill-2-director039s-cut-per...00_q85.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 02-21-2014, 06:48 PM by Googolplex.)
02-19-2014, 10:09 PM
Find
fenderspeed Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

(02-19-2014, 10:09 PM)Googolplex Wrote:
(02-19-2014, 09:15 PM)fenderspeed Wrote: Did anyone else try this and it takes away the title screen menu options? I can still click them, but cannot see what I'm clicking. Everything else seems to work fine...

Can you please take a screenshot and a description of what is wrong exactly?
Note that the patch is only tested on the european PAL version of the Director's Cut.

[Image: 13190.silent-hill-2-director039s-cut-per...00_q85.jpg]
[Image: eM3NAHF.jpg]

This is probably the N. American version, so perhaps thats the problem.
02-23-2014, 07:27 PM
Find
Googolplex Offline
Banned

Posts: 2,340
Threads: 246
Joined: Oct 2008
#10
RE: Silent Hill 2 (PC) - A patch by me.

OK, then can you give me your original exe?
I'll check what I can do to patch it for high resolutions.

In which resolution do you want to play?
(This post was last modified: 02-23-2014, 09:51 PM by Googolplex.)
02-23-2014, 09:50 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)