Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Level Editor Help Segmenting Items Within the Editor
Paddy™ Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 43
Segmenting Items Within the Editor

I'm new to the HPL tools, and the wiki doesn't seem to answer this particular question, so here goes:

Is it possible to cut, split or punch holes through planes or other structures directly from within the level editor? For instance, let's say I have a floor made from a plane and I have a well extending down through it. The hole in the well will be filled with the floor plane, because it passes right through the hollow tube of the well - can this hole be "punched out" of the plane?

This is an example of what I mean:

Pic 01
Pic 02

Thank you for not making fun of my complete newbishness.
(This post was last modified: 10-28-2013, 11:34 PM by Paddy™.)
10-28-2013, 03:55 PM
Find
WALP Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 34
RE: Segmenting Items Within the Editor

Nope you have to that in a 3D software if you want that circular hole.

A work around would be using multiple smaller planes and the well such that they form a hole, and the adjusting their tiling the best you can so you wont be able to see theres multiple planes.
10-28-2013, 04:14 PM
Find
Paddy™ Offline
Posting Freak

(10-28-2013, 04:14 PM)The Mug Wrote: Nope you have to that in a 3D software if you want that circular hole.

A work around would be using multiple smaller planes and the well such that they form a hole, and the adjusting their tiling the best you can so you wont be able to see theres multiple planes.

Thanks man!

I've been "brute forcing" my way through problems like this using techniques like the one you suggested, but I was hoping there was a more precise way of doing it. Looks like I'll have to delve into 3D modelling now haha, oh boy...
10-28-2013, 04:32 PM
Find
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 76