Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#1
Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

[Image: Amnesia_Import_Export.jpg]
Above is a reminder..

OpenCollada plugins for Maya and 3DSMAX:
https://github.com/KhronosGroup/OpenCOLL...LADA-Tools

Photoshop dxt plugin:
https://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-text...-photoshop

How Amnesia handles naming and textures:
http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...loutsource

Twitch Video:
http://www.twitch.tv/acies404/c/3781014

Youtube Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5b7diAWhcl8

Questions or things missing? Tell me below.

Edit: Accidentally say 1028x1028 pixels for images once - it should be 1024x1024.

Edit2: Quicker version (conclusion) at 20:45 in the video.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 02-24-2014, 08:22 PM by Acies.)
02-24-2014, 07:54 PM
Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,257
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#2
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

Quick hint for max users, you don't need the collada plugin, Autodesk Collada comes by default with max and works great.
02-24-2014, 08:16 PM
Find Reply
RaideX Offline
Member

Posts: 212
Threads: 33
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 7
#3
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

nice tutorial. i guess i know most of the stuff i need to know now.

Though i have a few questions:

What is the difference between a "lambert" and a "blinn" for instance.
What is the preferred way to use and what not to use?

Are your textures handdrawn or are these basically just images put together in photohops to fit the UV Image that you get from maya?

Would i have to recreate material files when i move textures to different folders after having created and "modelviewed" the model already?


PS: Thanks for your efforts. It's much appreciated.

If you don't draw first, you don't get to draw at all... -The False Shepherd
02-24-2014, 08:46 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,807
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#4
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

A quick Google search gives you this about Lamberts and Blinns.

Basically it says Lamberts are plain textures with no specularity, whereas Blinns are more complex. Since HPL adds the specular maps on top of the diffuse, a Lambert is all that's needed.

I don't think you need to recreate the .mat files. I, for example, have several models using the same texture, so instead of having a duplicate of the texture in each model folder, I just have a mat file pointing to a shared "textures" folder with the .dds files. Is this what you're asking?
If you move the texture files, you might have to edit the .mat file if it can't find it.

(This post was last modified: 02-24-2014, 10:09 PM by Mudbill.)
02-24-2014, 10:08 PM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#5
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

(02-24-2014, 08:46 PM)RaideX Wrote: nice tutorial. i guess i know most of the stuff i need to know now.

Lambert and blinn are materials in maya, changing those won't affect the look of your models in game. I make 90% of my textures with DDO - which basically allows you to generate scratches, dust and so on. It saves me a lot of time.

If not using DDO you can use a combination of photo and 'hand-drawn'. Relying purely on photos (I did that when I just started modeling) will limit your texturing a lot. Traggey has an example on texturing:
http://www.livestream.com/traggey/video?...m=ui-thumb

Here is another texturing example I've learned from: http://cgi.tutsplus.com/tutorials/how-to...s--cg-1765

If you move textures and .mat files I think the 'mat file' will know - and find the textures. If moving only the textures you will have to redirect the .mat file to the new directory. You can have a .mat file pointing to a folder for shared textures as mentioned above.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 02-24-2014, 11:05 PM by Acies.)
02-24-2014, 11:01 PM
Find Reply
RaideX Offline
Member

Posts: 212
Threads: 33
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 7
#6
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

Yes, answered all my open questions Smile

Thanks again for helping me out.

If you don't draw first, you don't get to draw at all... -The False Shepherd
02-25-2014, 04:27 PM
Find Reply
RedKnight Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 774
Threads: 16
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 6
#7
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

Does it also work with blender?

6666666666666666666566666666666666
02-27-2014, 07:01 AM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#8
RE: Short Guide on Importing stuff into Amnesia

Yes, that should be working.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


02-27-2014, 08:40 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)