Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[BUG]Material Editor preview glitch
xjonx Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 7
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
#1
[BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

When I load a texture that's fully white I get this in the preview:
Spoiler below!
[Image: FEImWql.png] when my mouse is hovering over the editor
Spoiler below!
[Image: VgcKJiT.png] when my mouse is hovering over my desktop
Any one also having this glitch? Huh
03-03-2014, 02:17 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,878
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 178
#2
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

Don't use .png files. They'll mess you up.
Try .tga or preferrably .dds. Don't forget alpha channels if you want transparency.

03-03-2014, 02:22 AM
Find Reply
xjonx Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 7
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

(03-03-2014, 02:22 AM)Mudbill Wrote: Don't use .png files. They'll mess you up.
Try .tga or preferrably .dds. Don't forget alpha channels if you want transparency.
I used .pngs for my intro textures and it was fine for those
03-03-2014, 02:32 AM
Find Reply
7heDubz Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,329
Threads: 40
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 41
#4
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

Well then you got lucky.

03-03-2014, 02:36 AM
Find Reply
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
#5
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

I think it's the resulotion. If it's not perfectly square (512x512;1024x1024;etc) the preview will mess up. Had the same problem, but the texture worked though.

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
(This post was last modified: 03-03-2014, 07:20 AM by Juras.)
03-03-2014, 07:19 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,878
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 178
#6
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

If you are to export this and use it, it might work despite looking strange in the preview. But yes, make sure the resolution is a pow2 texture. 512x512 pixels and 1024x1024 pixels are common resolutions to use.

.pngs work but are not recommended. If a problem occurs, that might be the problem on its own.

03-03-2014, 09:36 AM
Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#7
RE: [BUG]Material Editor preview glitch

You want to make sure to always use .dds ( direct draw surface ) textures, they are better for performance and will decrease your chanses of running into bugs.

Also this is posted in the wrong section, moved.
(This post was last modified: 03-03-2014, 01:39 PM by Traggey.)
03-03-2014, 01:38 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)