Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work in progress Non-Active Entity is active ingame
MacKetchup Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
#1
Non-Active Entity is active ingame

I have disabled every entity i want unactive. But when i enter my custom story they are enabled and fully visable.

Thanks on Beforehand
04-17-2014, 06:37 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,660
Threads: 58
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 169
#2
RE: Non-Active Entity is active ingame

Some entities are of Static type, which means you can not interact with them or script with them. What you can do to counter this is to open the entity in your model editor and go to Edit > User Defined Variables. At the top is type and sub type, which probably says StaticProp and blank. Change it to (type) Entity and (sub type) Static instead, and that should allow you to do things with it. Save as a new entity in the same location, and copy the .ent file into your custom story's folder as well.

For example:
Amnesia root\entities\cloth\cloth_pile01_dyn.ent
Amnesia root\custom_stories\YourStory\entities\cloth_pile01_dyn.ent


(I don't remember if that was the name of it, but I think the cloth pile is one entity acting like this.)

04-17-2014, 07:18 PM
Find Reply
MacKetchup Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Non-Active Entity is active ingame

(04-17-2014, 07:18 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Some entities are of Static type, which means you can not interact with them or script with them. What you can do to counter this is to open the entity in your model editor and go to Edit > User Defined Variables. At the top is type and sub type, which probably says StaticProp and blank. Change it to (type) Entity and (sub type) Static instead, and that should allow you to do things with it. Save as a new entity in the same location, and copy the .ent file into your custom story's folder as well.

For example:
Amnesia root\entities\cloth\cloth_pile01_dyn.ent
Amnesia root\custom_stories\YourStory\entities\cloth_pile01_dyn.ent


(I don't remember if that was the name of it, but I think the cloth pile is one entity acting like this.)

im using the on called armor. Which just is a stand with armor on it
04-17-2014, 07:40 PM
Find Reply
MsHannerBananer Offline
Member

Posts: 218
Threads: 34
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 10
#4
RE: Non-Active Entity is active ingame

This should go into development support next time. Big Grin

You're setting them to inactive via the level editor, right?

I know it's a drawn out step, but have you tried to set your statues inactive via script instead?

EDIT: Do you have the entities set to static in the level editor? That can conflict with deactivating the entities.

(This post was last modified: 04-17-2014, 07:54 PM by MsHannerBananer.)
04-17-2014, 07:52 PM
Find Reply
MacKetchup Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Non-Active Entity is active ingame

How do i know if they are static or not ?
04-18-2014, 12:40 PM
Find Reply
Neelke Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 669
Threads: 82
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 26
#6
RE: Non-Active Entity is active ingame

If in User Defined Varibles the type is "StaticProp".

Derp.
04-18-2014, 01:02 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)