Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6
jickpictures Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

I'm having major graphical problems ever since I updated to Mac OS X 10.5.6. The game is really unplayable with all these glitches, and it's a shame because Penumbra is a really fun game. Here's an example of the problems:

[Image: prob1bn6.png]

[Image: prob2yr0.png]
(This post was last modified: 01-03-2009, 04:39 AM by XartusX.)
01-03-2009, 04:39 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

Is this with the default game settings?

What graphics card do you have in your mac?

I was not able to reproduce this here with an ati 9600.
01-03-2009, 12:07 PM
Website Find
jickpictures Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

I have an iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core Duo 2
ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro
And Default game settings

It was working flawlessly before I updated to 10.5.6. :undecided:

Have any ideas? Am I the first to come up with this?
(This post was last modified: 01-03-2009, 08:08 PM by XartusX.)
01-03-2009, 08:07 PM
Find
jickpictures Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

Hellllp??? :undecided:
01-13-2009, 03:55 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

Can you provide save games/directions to get to the areas where you have the glitches???

also can you attach the settings.cfg file and hpl.log file as well.

they are all located in your home directory under Library/Preferences/Frictional Games/Penumbra/Requiem.

I'll load them up on my box (mac pro w/ an ati hd2600 running 10.5.6). so hopefully I should be able to see the same issues..

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
01-13-2009, 04:43 AM
Website Find
jickpictures Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

It is happening on all the levels now that I updated to 10.5.6. So it's not just a particular point. Thanks for the quick reply! But here is the hpl.log file you wanted, it's not letting me add the settings.cfg file for some reason?
01-13-2009, 05:15 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

try renaming it to settings.txt when you upload it.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
01-13-2009, 06:26 AM
Website Find
jickpictures Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

Okay, here you go Big Grin:
01-13-2009, 03:32 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#9
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Requiem not playable on OS X 10.5.6

ok.. you aren't running the default game settings.. Try setting the shader quality to "High" and also setting textures to high, then restart the game and it'll work fine.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
01-15-2009, 03:27 AM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)