Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Can a racing game be scary? [Discussion about scary non-horror games]
Googolplex Offline
Banned

Threads: 246
Can a racing game be scary? [Discussion about scary non-horror games]

Yes, it can!

I always wanted to discuss about scary non-horror games. 2001 I started playing some racing games in my childhood (NFS: Porsche) and I got scared by some locations in dirty dark industrial zones with rusty old steam pipes and broken windows. I totally enjoyed that atmosphere of sounds, music, and design!
I continued playing some RPGs (Gothic) and adventures (Indiana Jones and the Infernal Machine), where I always got massively scared in the dungeons and temple ruins. That shows me that typical horror game elements like immersion and atmosphere are also present in other genres.

Yesterday a new trailer of Project CARS was released for halloween to give a look into the scary challenge of hardcore racing. And I am really excited for this game.

What are your experiences with scary non-horror games?
(This post was last modified: 10-25-2014, 03:42 PM by Googolplex.)
10-25-2014, 03:23 PM
Find
Red Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 49
RE: Can a racing game be scary? [Discussion about scary non-horror games]

Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing was one horror for sure, not to mention Taxi Racer.
10-25-2014, 05:57 PM
Find
MrBehemoth Offline

Threads: 19

Depends what you call scary. To me, horror is a insidious feeling of dread that subtly gets under your skin. I'd say the Project CARS trailer is moody and dramatic, not scary.

Some FPSs can be scary, but usually when they're deliberately using horror techniques. The Half-Life franchise is a good example. Doom 3 and Dead Space had a good try, but I find that they rely too much on jumpscares, rather than horror.

Thanks for reminding me about the Indiana Jones 3d action games! Emperor's Tomb was my favourite.

10-25-2014, 06:05 PM