Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Poll: Have you ever had trouble finding a specific entity or static object in LevelEditor?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Yes
100.00%
7 100.00%
No
0%
0 0%
Total 7 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Search tab on LevelEditor?
goalreadymc Offline
Member

Posts: 55
Threads: 23
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
#11
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(10-28-2014, 10:18 AM)Straxedix Wrote: Is it hard to press Control (CTRL) and F in same time ?

Well, I tried CTRL+F, typed an Oil Potion (potion_oil) in the "Name" and "Type" box and nothing happened. Tongue

(10-28-2014, 01:39 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Something like this?

An extra search filter above the entity selection. You type something here and it will only show the categories which contain entities that match with the filter text, and after selecting a category, only those entities are shown. For example, if you type "servant" into the field, only one category shows up in the list (enemy). Click it and it will show only servant_grunt and servant_brute (and exclude the water monster and any pig men). Is this something FG should implement for SOMA? Definitely!
[Image: 5keNqWb.png]

PS: low pic quality, just Googled one and edited it cause I don't have the editors available atm.

That could be an idea. Maybe if people like to type directories (ex: redist\static_objects\castlebase\default), maybe we could at that. Smile
(This post was last modified: 10-29-2014, 07:33 PM by goalreadymc.)
10-29-2014, 07:28 PM
Find Reply
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
#12
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(10-29-2014, 05:31 PM)Mudbill Wrote: however I can see it being very much possible. The levels and entities are, after all, just text files. Any program can write text files.
Exactly. I'll give it a try later, after exams and stuff. Looks scary, though =p

10-29-2014, 10:48 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,661
Threads: 58
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 169
#13
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

Haha, yeah it does sound like fun to try doing. I think the only real challenge would be to implement the actual graphics engine to display everything properly, and also do so efficiently (optimized). If we could get that down, the rest would be quite a breeze (probably not, but not impossible Wink).

(This post was last modified: 10-30-2014, 11:44 AM by Mudbill.)
10-30-2014, 11:44 AM
Find Reply
Luis Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 278
Threads: 19
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 9
#14
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

I'd advice against doing such a thing, as there's chance you might go insane. The pink dragons that roam my office told me so.

EOF
11-02-2014, 12:54 PM
Find Reply
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
#15
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

Come on Luis, we're students, show us the way =p

11-02-2014, 07:15 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,661
Threads: 58
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 169
#16
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

I just took myself some time to play around and so I made a little demo of this particular idea. It was just for fun, I don't expect it to be useful in any way because it was made very simplistic, but you can try it out if you wanna.

[Image: ZYfWd6L.png]

(Click image to download it, requires Java or whatever. PS: I didn't get it to run with 64 bit Java, so just use 32 bit, which is recommended on 64 bit machines anyway. Oh, and Windows only.)

Refresh button is simply aesthetic, can use enter instead of the Go button.

(This post was last modified: 11-10-2014, 11:27 AM by Mudbill.)
11-08-2014, 04:28 PM
Find Reply
goalreadymc Offline
Member

Posts: 55
Threads: 23
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
#17
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(11-08-2014, 04:28 PM)Mudbill Wrote: I just took myself some time to play around and so I made a little demo of this particular idea. It was just for fun, I don't expect it to be useful in any way because it was made very simplistic, but you can try it out if you wanna.

[Image: VhHii1W.png]

(Click image to download it, requires Java or whatever. PS: I didn't get it to run with 64 bit Java, so just use 32 bit, which is recommended on 64 bit machines anyway. Oh, and Windows only.)

Refresh button is simply aesthetic, can use enter instead of the Go button.

Nice, but what about static objects? (castlebase\default_extension)
11-08-2014, 10:42 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,661
Threads: 58
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 169
#18
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

I'm guessing that could have an identical feature. But this is just a test app, with a few entities that I added myself. It doesn't contain all of them, and this is the entirety of it. It doesn't actually replace the editor's entity selection (unfortunately) Tongue

(This post was last modified: 11-08-2014, 10:49 PM by Mudbill.)
11-08-2014, 10:49 PM
Find Reply
goalreadymc Offline
Member

Posts: 55
Threads: 23
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
#19
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(11-08-2014, 10:49 PM)Mudbill Wrote: I'm guessing that could have an identical feature. But this is just a test app, with a few entities that I added myself. It doesn't contain all of them, and this is the entirety of it. It doesn't actually replace the editor's entity selection (unfortunately) Tongue

It does look good. SmileSmile
11-09-2014, 02:58 AM
Find Reply
Luis Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 278
Threads: 19
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 9
#20
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

*Ahem* #SlightNecromancy #EditorTease

[Image: NewStaticObjectsPane.png]

EOF
03-04-2015, 09:57 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)