Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Full conversion help!
Kounumbra Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
#1
Full conversion help!

I have the steam amnesia on a mac os x version 10.8.5. I have tried installing three different full conversion mods - meta, mana and white night and none of them have worked.
I have tried to merge the folders in the Amnesia game bundle like the read me’s and all the youtube tutorials said I should, and also tried simply moving the single mod file into the game bundle. These have seemed like they should have worked, but Steam refuses to launch the mods, saying it cannot open the config file. Is there any way around this or are they just incompatible with my mac system?
12-09-2014, 03:15 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,733
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 173
#2
RE: Full conversion help!

Game bundle? Steam doesn't sandbox anything if that's what you're saying. No, all you must do is place the files in the right folders in the install directory. Since there is no merge option on Mac, you'll have to manually open each folder. After that, add the correct launch option on Steam. Don't replace anything in the directory.

Here, check this out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r26PfcXJz-8

12-09-2014, 03:51 PM
Find Reply
Kounumbra Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Full conversion help!

(12-09-2014, 03:51 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Game bundle? Steam doesn't sandbox anything if that's what you're saying. No, all you must do is place the files in the right folders in the install directory. Since there is no merge option on Mac, you'll have to manually open each folder. After that, add the correct launch option on Steam. Don't replace anything in the directory.

Here, check this out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r26PfcXJz-8

((When I said game bundle I meant the folder with the path Application Support/Steam/Steamapps/common/Amnesia The Dark Descent. I didn't know what it was called, it's probably the install directory like you said. Sorry about the confusion.))

I've done everything in the video correctly, including the set launch options. I'm 100% sure I haven't replaced anything.
When I hit play it comes up with a small window saying "Error! Failed to load config file"
12-10-2014, 02:42 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,733
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 173
#4
RE: Full conversion help!

That can only mean the launch option cannot find the main_init.cfg file. Remember, it should be a relative path to the config, starting from the Amnesia root folder. So to start the normal game with the use of this path, it would be config/main_init.cfg.

White Night uses its own config folder in the root, so that one's path would be wn_config/main_init.cfg. If you have an isolated mod, it will likely be within another level, like modname/config/main_init.cfg.

What mod are you trying to install?

(This post was last modified: 12-10-2014, 08:58 AM by Mudbill.)
12-10-2014, 08:57 AM
Find Reply
Kounumbra Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Full conversion help!

(12-10-2014, 08:57 AM)Mudbill Wrote: That can only mean the launch option cannot find the main_init.cfg file. Remember, it should be a relative path to the config, starting from the Amnesia root folder. So to start the normal game with the use of this path, it would be config/main_init.cfg.

White Night uses its own config folder in the root, so that one's path would be wn_config/main_init.cfg. If you have an isolated mod, it will likely be within another level, like modname/config/main_init.cfg.

What mod are you trying to install?

Just White Night at the moment.
(This post was last modified: 12-11-2014, 05:24 AM by Kounumbra.)
12-11-2014, 04:22 AM
Find Reply


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Human Verification
Please tick the checkbox that you see below. This process is used to prevent automated spam bots.



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)