Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help AddUseItem Callback Not Working
dailycreepypasta Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 32
Threads: 18
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
#1
AddUseItem Callback Not Working

To my luck, something else didn't work. I have a crowbar item in one of my maps named "Crowbar". I have a script that requires the item to function properly. So, while testing the mod I got the crowbar and went to the level with the script. The script isn't working for me! Here's the script I'm using:

PHP Code: (Select All)
void OnStart()
{
        
AddUseItemCallback("""Crowbar""Door""UseCrowbarOnDoor"true);
}

void UseCrowbarOnDoor(string &in asItemstring &in asEntity)
{
        
RemoveItem(asItem);
        
PlaySoundAtEntity("""player_crouch.snt""Player"0.05false);
        
AddTimer(asEntity0.2"TimerPlaceCrowbar");
}
 
void TimerPlaceCrowbar(string &in asTimer)
{
        
SetEntityActive("Joint"true);
        
PlaySoundAtEntity("""puzzle_place_jar.snt"asTimer0false);
}
 
void BreakDoor(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{
        
SetEntityActive("Joint"false);
        
SetEntityActive("Broken"true);
 
        
SetSwingDoorLocked("Door"falsefalse);
        
SetSwingDoorClosed("Door"falsefalse);
        
SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("Door"true);
 
        
AddPropImpulse("Door"003"world");
 
        
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("""ps_hit_wood.ps""AreaEffect"false);
        
PlaySoundAtEntity("""break_wood_metal""AreaEffect"0false);
 
        
GiveSanityBoostSmall();
 
        
PlayMusic("10_puzzle01.ogg"false0.70.110false);
 
        
AddTimer(""0.1"TimerPushDoor");
}
 
void TimerPushDoor(string &in asTimer)
{
        
AddPropImpulse("Door", -421"world");
        
AddTimer(""1.1"TimerDoorCanClose");
}
 
void TimerDoorCanClose(string &in asTimer)
{
        
SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("Door"false);


I made sure that the names match and that the casing is the same, and I don't use the crowbar in any script except for one to set an entity inactive. What could be the problem?

Creator of "The Night I Went Insane".

http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-night-i-went-insane
(This post was last modified: 04-06-2015, 05:49 AM by dailycreepypasta.)
04-06-2015, 05:46 AM
Find Reply
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#2
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

Are you 100% sure the names are right and you use the Crowbar in the RIGHT door?
Is this the entre script?
This script looks quite standard to me, so i guess that should work fine.
Let us know if the door and Crowbar or good.
04-06-2015, 10:30 AM
Find Reply
Neelke Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 668
Threads: 82
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 26
#3
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

You're missing the collide callback for the crowbar and the area.

AddEntityCollideCallback("Crowbar", "NAME_OF_AREA", "BreakDoor", true, 1);

Derp.
04-06-2015, 12:29 PM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#4
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

(04-06-2015, 12:29 PM)Neelke Wrote: You're missing the collide callback for the crowbar and the area.

AddEntityCollideCallback("Crowbar", "NAME_OF_AREA", "BreakDoor", true, 1);

It's an AddUseItemCallback, not an AddEntityCollideCallback.

OT:
I can't see any problems. As Lange said, check your names again. For capitals and numbers.

Trying is the first step to success.
04-07-2015, 07:14 AM
Find Reply
Neelke Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 668
Threads: 82
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 26
#5
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

(04-07-2015, 07:14 AM)FlawlessHappiness Wrote:
(04-06-2015, 12:29 PM)Neelke Wrote: You're missing the collide callback for the crowbar and the area.

AddEntityCollideCallback("Crowbar", "NAME_OF_AREA", "BreakDoor", true, 1);

It's an AddUseItemCallback, not an AddEntityCollideCallback.

OT:
I can't see any problems. As Lange said, check your names again. For capitals and numbers.

Then what's this for?

void BreakDoor(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
        SetEntityActive("Joint", false);
        SetEntityActive("Broken", true);

        SetSwingDoorLocked("Door", false, false);
        SetSwingDoorClosed("Door", false, false);
        SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("Door", true);

        AddPropImpulse("Door", 0, 0, 3, "world");

        CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_hit_wood.ps", "AreaEffect", false);
        PlaySoundAtEntity("", "break_wood_metal", "AreaEffect", 0, false);

        GiveSanityBoostSmall();

        PlayMusic("10_puzzle01.ogg", false, 0.7, 0.1, 10, false);

        AddTimer("", 0.1, "TimerPushDoor");
}

If you check the Guest Room in the main game, they use a collide function for being able to determine where the crowbar is located. If this script does not require collide function, then why is this function even here? This script require both an AddUseItemCallback and an AddEntityCollideCallback.

Derp.
(This post was last modified: 04-07-2015, 07:54 AM by Neelke.)
04-07-2015, 07:50 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#6
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

It's true it does, but perhaps he hasn't gotten that far yet, and just wants to check whether his AddUseItemCallback is working.

He says it isn't, so before causing too much confusion can we solve 1 problem at a time, please?

Trying is the first step to success.
(This post was last modified: 04-07-2015, 08:01 AM by FlawlessHappiness.)
04-07-2015, 08:00 AM
Find Reply
Neelke Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 668
Threads: 82
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 26
#7
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

Oh, sorry didn't see that. Then I say the same as Flawless and DnALANGE.

Derp.
04-07-2015, 08:12 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,838
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#8
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

I guess we'll have to hear what OP means by "script not working" because that might just mean that the whole thing isn't working as expected, in which case the collide callback should do it.

04-07-2015, 09:30 AM
Find Reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#9
RE: AddUseItem Callback Not Working

(04-07-2015, 09:30 AM)Mudbill Wrote: I guess we'll have to hear what OP means by "script not working" because that might just mean that the whole thing isn't working as expected, in which case the collide callback should do it.

I was thinking the same... Error? Nothing?

Trying is the first step to success.
04-07-2015, 10:08 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)