Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled
Vash63 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

I'd normally assume that this is a Steam issue, but it is odd that Soma is the only game I can reproduce it in. The overlay works perfectly but all screenshots just come up as display-sized black images with no content.
10-03-2015, 10:47 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,626
Threads: 62
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 195
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

Instead of using F12, try using F8. It is the Screenshot capture button in SOMA. Your images will be saved in SOMA's folder in Steam, which by default, can be found here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\SOMA

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
10-03-2015, 11:06 AM
Find
Vash63 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

That took a screen and put it in the SOMA folder (This is the Linux forum by the way, so no C:\), but the screenshot is still completely black. I've been able to get screenshots through Gnome's screencapture tool but that's not as convenient.
10-03-2015, 11:44 AM
Find
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

A fix to f8 screenshots will be going live soon. f12 steam screenshots seem to have a bug in valves overlay code that I've reported to them. I'll let you know when the fix is up.
10-03-2015, 02:35 PM
Find
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

Linux f12 and f8 screenshots should now work in the [public_beta] branch and will go out with the next official patch. If you'd like to opt into the [public_beta] do the following:

1. right click SOMA in your library
2. click properties
3. click BETAS tab
4. select "public_beta" from drop-down list
5. click LOCAL FILES tab
6. click VERIFY INTEGRITY OF GAME CACHE...
10-08-2015, 06:54 PM
Find
Guest
Unregistered

 
#6
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

Great to hear. I've already finished the game (excellent game), but will definitely be glad to have easier and Steam compatible screenshots to upload to my Steam account for my eventual second playthrough.

Great job overall on the ports also, this and Shadow Warrior are two of the best ports for Windows graphical and performance parity out there for modern looking games.
10-09-2015, 09:26 AM
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Steam Overlay screenshots come out garbled

Thanks! That means a lot. Parity is the goal, it helps when the developer of the IP has a solid engine to start with :-D.
10-09-2015, 02:44 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)