Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


(Solved) Sound error when trying to load Penumbra game
Linux.Blue Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 615
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago (Solved) Sound error when trying to load Penumbra game

I am getting errors when I am trying to load the game. I have also reduced the resolution to 800x600, and still fails:

Entire hpl.log:

Check serial!
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glee...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Max texture image units: 16
Max texture coord units: 8
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Vertex Program: 1
Fragment Program: 1
NV Register Combiners: 0
NV Register Combiners Stages: 153784056
ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
Creating Renderer2D
Renderer2D created
Creating Renderer3D
Load Renderer3D gpu programs:
Extrude
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
Diffuse Vertex
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
Diffuse Fragment
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
Fog
CG: 'Fog_Solid_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'Fog_Solid_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
Creating fog textures: Solid Additive Alpha
CG: 'refract_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'refract_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'refract_special_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
init sky box
Renderer3D created
Creating screen buffers size 800.000000 : 600.000000
Creating programs
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_Rect_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_2D_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG ERROR : The compile returned an error.
-----------------------------------
core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg(32) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
-----------------------------------
CG: Error loading: 'core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'!
ERROR: Couldn't create program 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'

Dynamic loops in motion blur fp not supported, loading static instead.
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_staticloop_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
RendererPostEffects created
Adding engine materials
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL.
Trying to open audio device...


-END-

I am using Mandriva 2010 (Powerpack edition)
HP G60 laptop; widescreen.

May be an obvious question to answer, but does one need a widescreen resolution to make this work when you have a wide screen?
(This post was last modified: 01-21-2010, 07:54 PM by Greatred.)
01-19-2010, 08:17 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Doesn't load; gives errors

I do not think it has to do with screen or graphics, it ends on trying to open the audio device so it is probably an OpenAL or related sound issue. Not really sure how to troubleshoot it though!
01-19-2010, 08:32 PM
Website Find
Linux.Blue Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 615
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Doesn't load; gives errors

I went back and found what errors I could and made them bold. not sure all are sound related.

I may ask Mandriva as well.
01-19-2010, 08:58 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#4
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Doesn't load; gives errors

Those are not important, if you read closely it says that for statement is not supported so it uses an alternative version of the motion blur instead.
01-19-2010, 09:00 PM
Website Find
Linux.Blue Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 615
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: (Solved) Sound error when trying to load Penumbra game

It was due to the sound. I simply disabled PulseAudio and the game fired up without any issues or hesitations.
Thanks!
01-21-2010, 07:54 PM
Find
cortez Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: (Solved) Sound error when trying to load Penumbra game

(01-21-2010, 07:54 PM)Jeremy-Bailey Wrote: It was due to the sound. I simply disabled PulseAudio and the game fired up without any issues or hesitations.
Thanks!

how did you disable PulseAudio to fire up the game?
02-22-2013, 07:35 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)