Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro
Author Message
Sandman Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

Hi,

I've just purchased Penumbra: Overture for Mac as part of the Humble Indie Bundle. I'm excited to play, but I'm having a problem: after I click new game and watch the introduction sequence, I see a loading screen. Then, my screen goes black. I hear sound from the game, but I can't see anything.

Any idea what the problem might be? I'm running OSX 10.6.3 on a macbook.

Thanks,
-Noel

EDIT: Ahh I think I know the problem. Pretty sure it's because I'm running an Intel GMA 950 graphics processor, and you only support the newest integrated graphics processors.
(This post was last modified: 05-05-2010, 10:10 PM by Sandman.)
05-05-2010, 09:56 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

Yes, that is unfortunately the case!
05-06-2010, 06:31 AM
Website Find
kolinko Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

Similar problem here - crashes after intro. It's also Intel GMA 950.

Is there anything that can be done? Or a patch coming?
05-06-2010, 09:40 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

No I'm afraid the card is not capable of running the game, so it can't be fixed in any way.
05-06-2010, 09:53 PM
Website Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

Only thing is to be thankful that apple learned from this mistake and no longer use Intel Graphics processors Smile

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Website Find
HamDamDoom Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture from H.I.B. -- Black Screen after Intro

I fixed the black screen... at the bottom of ur desktop on that wee table where is language bar press that little arrow that opens more options where u see that Intel Graphic blah blah blah Right click it and exit tray... Hope it works for u but for me its not responding thats what i need to find
and my processor is:

Intel® Atom™ CPU N450 @ 1.66GHz 1.67 GHz
(This post was last modified: 10-12-2011, 02:43 PM by HamDamDoom.)
10-12-2011, 02:38 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)