Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
demo config
klavir Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago demo config

I'm using Ubuntu 10.04. With the alsa default driver in the sound options game won't start. Where are the config files or how to open the settings launcher to get sound setup back? Reinstalling not did any good.
09-03-2010, 11:56 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: demo config

all settings files get saved to ~/.frictionalgames/Amnesia/MainDemo

the Settings launcher should run everytime you run the game from the installed menu. Just check the list of devices on the sound page and try a different one. (ie.. not pulse audio if that is what is causing you grief).

Also send the hpl.log file from the MainDemo directory so we can help further diagnose exactly what the problem is.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-04-2010, 12:00 AM
Website Find
klavir Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: demo config

The whole game application with the settings launcher is not launching after I've chosen the alsa default driver. And I can't find a "frictionalgames" dir onto my hard drive Sad

This is content of hpl.log file:
http://pastebin.com/BbZaF3KY

upd:
Damn, I've forgot about hidden folders. After deleting of the MainDemo folder game runs perfectly.

This is one more hpl.log from the MainDemo directory:
http://pastebin.com/yBPGAj5F
09-04-2010, 12:10 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: demo config

What did you change in the launcher the first time that caused the game to not run? Can you send me a copy of your main_settings.cfg (in the ~/.frictionalgames folder) when the game IS working, and when it is not working (ie.. try to recreate the issue).

I'm very interested in what is going on here, as there is a lot of fail-safe checks in the code to get sound "working".

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-04-2010, 02:26 AM
Website Find
klavir Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: demo config

The game is working fine with any sound device in the sound options.
Exception is OSS Software. When I'm choosing it - game sets PulseAudio device.
It don't want to start launcher when the sound device is "ALSA Software on default".
Another ALSA Software (analog, digital and hdmi) doesn't getting any sound, but they are not causing game not to launch.
If the cfg file is needed, I'll post it here later.

P.S. The game rocks. Do you have any ideas to distribute game in Russia like the Penumbra series? If that so, I'll definetely buy it Smile
09-04-2010, 08:42 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: demo config

There is a Russian version.

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3273.html

However it is currently Windows only.

Now, if you buy both versions (linux from Frictional games direct and Russian from snowball), you can copy over the language files and they will work in the Linux build of the game (this has been tested this time around)

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-04-2010, 04:32 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)