Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Unplayable framerate
sweetafton Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#11
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

(09-12-2010, 09:36 PM)rini Wrote:
(09-10-2010, 11:42 AM)sweetafton Wrote: Video Card: Nvidia Geforce 7050
7050 is below Minimal Requirements. Similar problem is on Geforce 6100 (little slower than 7050). On GF6100 framerate is ~8 fps (at minimal settings).

Hmm. Piece of doo-doo graphics card I have, as expected Sad
09-13-2010, 11:35 PM
Find
torturedutopian Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#12
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

Hi ! A friend of mine I offered Amnesia to has the same issue ; his setup is the following :

- Ubuntu 10.4
- Geforce AGP 6200 256 Mo
- P4 Hyper Threading 3Ghz
- 2GB Ram

He tells me he gets 2 frames per second with both min and max details levels. (and also that he doesn't manage to force a lower fullscreen resolution ; he says that when he specified 1024x768, it opens a maximized window instead).

I thought it would be OK as the GF6 is written as "recommended configuration". What do you think ?

(he also disabled both compiz & twinview : it makes no difference either)

Cheers !!

Ubuntu 10.10 64 bits
09-16-2010, 06:43 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#13
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

Hard to say, could be the P4 more than the GF6. He is using drivers from Nvidia?
09-17-2010, 08:04 AM
Website Find
torturedutopian Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#14
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

Ah, my friend finally managed to play it properly and is very happy :-)

I don't know why, he didn't have access to the 640x480 resolution and the game was too slow above it. (also, he uses twinview) He said the "nvidia x server settings" utility only allowed the maximum resolution, so he had to modify his xorg.conf.

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0; CRT-0: 800x600 +0+0, CRT-1: NULL; CRT-0: 640x480 +0+0, CRT-1: NULL"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

NULL : to disable the 2nd monitor, otherwise the game is played on both screens.

So he managed to play it in a *smooth* way, with a good details level, in 640*480 (on one screen)

Well, I don't really know why he had to tweak that manually, that's strange. Maybe the 6xxx GPU is not that well supported now and doesn't benefit from up-to-date configuration utilities... Nowadays, xorg.conf files are not necessary usually... Except for this nvidia proprietary driver (which is pretty good apart from that and apart from the fact it gives a wrong vertical frequency to identify the twinview modes)

Anyway : yes, you can play the game with a GF 6200 + P4 processor. It sucks he had to modify xorg.conf though, nvidia should work with X.org to make things easier :-)

Ubuntu 10.10 64 bits
09-30-2010, 11:40 AM
Find
Ilkka X Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,455
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#15
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

(09-10-2010, 12:54 PM)sweetafton Wrote:
(09-10-2010, 12:52 PM)jens Wrote: Try and disabled Aero before starting the game.

Aero?

I'm a Windows user myself and I have absolutely no experience on using Linux...
But I believe that Jens meant Linux Beryl (that's what I found with Google and it looks pretty much likely the same idea as Windows Aero, transparent windows and other eye candy).

Windows Aero.
Linux Beryl.

So, disabling this, so that the windows in your OS are static, instead of cool looking, might give you few FPS more in game.

(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010, 12:06 PM by Ilkka X.)
09-30-2010, 12:01 PM
Website Find
torturedutopian Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#16
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

Actually Beryl is a former Compiz fork, merged back under the name Compiz Fusion. Now it's just Compiz and it's the most common compositing window manager used under GNOME. :-)

Jens obviously meant "Compiz" instead of "Aero" Smile

Nowadays I keep Compiz enabled all the time -- I barely have 1 or 2 fewer FPS in Starcraft 2 for instance. (with WINE)

Ubuntu 10.10 64 bits
09-30-2010, 12:05 PM
Find
Ilkka X Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,455
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#17
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

Ah, OK then.
As I said, I'm a noob when it comes to Linux. Tongue

(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010, 12:09 PM by Ilkka X.)
09-30-2010, 12:09 PM
Website Find
hicham Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
#18
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

I am having an ATI Mobility Radeon X700 PCIE ( 64Mb physical, 64Mb extended ), 1 GB of Ram, 1,86 GHz Pentium M, running on Fedora 14 with Open Source Driver.

Running the game with 1280x800 ( native resolution of the panel ) makes it slow, but with 800x600, the game is really speedy.
12-13-2010, 11:19 PM
Find
3dfx Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#19
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Unplayable framerate

you need a better gpu op
02-27-2011, 11:02 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)